Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

ImageIt’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday, and it’s crunch time here, and I don’t mean the upcoming holidays.  Work and class have converged in a perfect storm of stress and deadlines.  The good news, it’s just for the next three weeks.  And THEN I can think about gifts, holiday gatherings, etc.

I’m complaining only because I’m not someone who likes to be super-busy if I can help it.  I like to work hard, I like to be challenged, and I can live with a little pressure when I need to.  But at heart, I’m a slow and steady kind of girl.  Which is why I spent most of the weekend working on final papers that are due in three weeks.  Because I’d rather work through my Saturday than be up at night thinking about what I didn’t do.

I meant to start this post with, “here’s why you won’t hear from me much in the next few weeks”.  But I know that’s not true. Reading and blogging are my sanity.  If you’re reading this, know that I’m grateful.

To the subject at hand: what have I been reading?  Since my last “Monday Post”, I’ve finished The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach.  Three books in a month?  You can tell I’ve been busy!

What’s coming?  I’ve committed to two author request books, one of which is about Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer as adults (Redemption by Andrew Joyce), and the other is about the war in Vietnam (The Collection of Heng Souk by S.R. Wilsher).  I also have a growing stack of paperbacks I’ve picked up at my farmer’s market.  And I have a few books left on my Kindle.  Jasper Fforde’s Song of the Quarkbeast is calling to me.

I owe you reviews of The Cuckoo’s Calling, Fangirl, and Huck Finn (see a review of the first third here).  That’s actually pretty good for me.

I’ll close this post with a few interesting things I’ve seen around blogs recently.  My goal in the coming year is to get better at sharing this kind of stuff.

  • I really liked this list of “Gateway Science Fiction” over at The Little Red Reviewer.  It’s aimed at science fiction for folks who haven’t read a lot of it.  The post defines “gateway” as near future or near Earth.  Ready Player One is an example.  I think of “gateway” as science fiction that’s less about the technology or science.  Either way, I see lots of new authors to check out on this list, like Kage Baker.

So, happy Monday and happy reading!

One thought on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. Very nice blog…new E-mail Subscriber and Twitter follower.

    GREAT post too. I am like you…I want to get things done no matter if it means working on a Saturday.

    ENJOY this week and your books. Looks like you had a great week last week.

    Link to my post is below as well as a giveaway.

    BTW…Stop by for a FUN giveaway too: GIVEAWAY

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

Leave a Reply

