Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

mondayIt’s Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at The Book Journey.

On this last day of March, I’m bidding farewell and good-riddance to winter, I hope. This has been a LONG one. My sister had her surgery, and she’s doing really well. I spent a week with her after the surgery, and I’m so glad I had the chance to do that. She has really inspired me with her strength.  I have to say I was also really inspired by the support and love I saw from her friends and family. So many people stopped by with food, gifts, and thoughtful offers to help. To steal a movie line, it made me want to be a better person.

My husband celebrated his birthday this month, and we toasted his old age with a Bordeaux tasting at one of our favorite restaurants. And… we also celebrated by planning a trip to France to do more Bordeaux tasting in the near future.  More on that to come.

As for my March reading wrap-up, I posted these reviews:

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? By Mindy Kaling
The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck
Love Minus Eighty by Will McIntosh

I also finished:
Honor’s Knight by Rachel Bach
Night Broken by Patricia Briggs
Paris, Rue des Martyrs by Adria J. Cimino
This is Paradise by Kristiana Kahakauwila

What’s next?
Right now I’m reading the new Veronica Mars mystery novel, The Thousand Dollar Tan Line. It’s written by Rob Thomas, the creator of Veronica Mars, with Jennifer Graham. I’m also finishing up The Trumpeter of Krakow, a Newbery award winner.  I have a lot of books on my Kindle right now, including Insurgent by Veronica Roth, The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman and The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker.

On April 24 I’ll be participating in my first blog tour for The Making of Nebraska Brown by Louise Caiola. I’ll give you an honest review once I’ve finished, but a giveaway will be included.

Challenge Update:
For the TBR Pile Challenge, the Around the World Challenge, and the Classics Club, I read and reviewed The Good Earth.

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. It sounds like March has been a busy but rewarding month for you!
    I have an Alice Hoffman novel lying in wait for me however it isn’t my read for the week, but it is next in line.
    Happy Reading… And wishes of warmer weather for you! :-)

  2. A trip to France is always good, and I’m sure planning it will be fun. I’ve heard Night Broken is good and I’ve been meaning to take the plunge into the Divergent series. Alas I probably will see the movie first…

    • Night Broken was good, though not my favorite. Have you read the other Mercy Thompson books? If not, I would definitely start with the first, there is a lot of story-building in these books.

    • I’m really liking it so far – not a great read but a fun one. It’s oddly like watching the show, because it uses specific dialogue, descriptions, etc. from the show and movie.

Leave a Reply

