Blog Events

The Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a way for book blogs to find each other.  As part of the Book Blogger Hop, we are supposed to say our name and why we started blogging.  I’m a very new blogger so I’m forgoing my real name  just yet –in the blogging world I’m going by CurlyGeek — curly for my crazy hair and geek because with this blog  I’m embracing my inner geek by talking about the books I really read, not just the ones that most people read.

I started blogging for a few reasons.  I’ve always loved to write, and in my day to day life I don’t get to write anymore. Lately I really feel my writing (and reading) skills starting to deteriorate.  Earlier this year  I started a blog but it didn’t work – the topics I wrote about were too personal and not focused enough.    I love talking about books and reading about books, so my husband suggested I start WRITING about books.  I came home one day after a particularly bad day at work, and ranted at him about how I’ll never be able to open that bookstore I want and I’ll be stuck in my “Office Space” of a job forever.  He said that maybe I don’t love my job, and maybe a bookstore is not a viable financial option for us right now, but at least I can fill my time outside of work with something I care about.

One great thing about writing this blog is that I find myself reading more thoughtfully. I also love connecting with other book bloggers.  And I’ve been surprised since I started at how nearly everything around me becomes something I can blog about.

I hope you’ll take a look and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

