Blog Hops and Other Memes

This Week’s Blog Hop

On this week’s Blog Hop, the question is “What book are you dying to get your hands on?”

Well I would always like to get my hands on first edition Oz books, so I’d really really like a beautiful first edition Wizard of Oz.  But I think that’s not quite the point of the question.  I’d say I’m most anxiously waiting for the next book by Jasper Fforde in the Shades of Grey series or the Thursday Next series.  I’m also waiting (and will be waiting for a while) for the next Outlander book by Diana Gabaldon.  I have a theory that every other book in her series is great and the last one was a little weak, so that means we’re due for a good one next!

Finally, I’d like J.K. Rowling to start a new series.

But for now, I’ve got the new Temeraire book by Naomi Novik so that makes me pretty happy.  Have a good weekend all!

19 thoughts on “This Week’s Blog Hop

  1. Ooh, a new series by J.K. Rowling, I wonder what that would be like (I wonder what her plans are now), that’s a good one!

    Have a good weekend!

  2. I wonder what J.K Rowling would write if she decided to write another series (it’s not like she needs to, considering how successful HP was =] ). Do you reckon it would involve magic again?

  3. Hi!

    I’ve been ‘about to’ start the Outlander series for ages – I’m definitely going to go for it over summer…I hope..

    Also, I saw on one of your other posts that you’ve just found Christopher Moore – I’m currently reading my first Moore novel (‘A Dirty Job’) and so far I’m really enjoying it. Very reminscent of Terry Pratchett but without the fantasy world and very funny. Hope you like his work too!

    I’ve also only got one month to wait until I can get to grips with my shiny new eReader and your blog is in no small part responsible for tipping me into the ‘I have to have one’ camp!

    So thanks! 🙂

    • I hope you love the e-reader!
      I’m reading Bloodsucking Fiends right now. I haven’t read Pratchett but A. Lee Martinez is similar. Gil’s All Fright Diner is hilarious.

  4. Hi Deb!
    Thanks for visiting me! I’m going to read your review of The Passage after I’ve read it, at which time I’ll probably have something hopefully-interesting to say about it! 🙂

    I’m curious about whether Rowling will write anything else and what it will be, too. If it were me, I’d feel quite a bit of pressure to come up with something good!

    Y’know I haven’t read The Wizard of Oz yet – I have a nice edition, nothing fancy, but I don’t even know the story very well. I think I only watched the movie once, and I remember the black-and-white beginning and the Tin Man and the Lion and Dorothy, but I can never remember the ending! I’m looking forward to reading it actually; and then I have Maguire’s Wicked to read afterwards. People seem to really love or hate that one.

    I’ve got two Fforde books to read, books 2 and 3, and I’ve only read the first two books in Outlander so far, so I’ve got lots of catching up to do! I’m adding your blog to my Reader so I can keep coming back 🙂

    • Wow, you haven’t read Wizard of Oz and only seen the movie once! There were actually 14 Oz books in the series — they can be a little dated, but growing up they were my absolute favorite. Baum wrote really strong girl characters. The book Wizard of Oz is pretty different from the movie, definitely worth a read just to compare. Books 2 and 3 are great too.

      Sounds like you have plenty of reading to do! I’m surprised you stopped at book 2 of Outlander, given the ending to that one. They get a little uneven after 2 but still an amazing series.

      • Ah yes, I stopped after book 2 because it was so intense, I needed a break! But it had the first chapter of book 3 at the end so I cheated a bit and read that. I’ve got 3, 4 and 6 (I’ve been getting them secondhand and haven’t seen 5 in good condition yet!), so I will get back to it! Can’t believe how long it’s been actually. Think I read the first two in 2008!

        So yeah, lots of reading to do!

  5. Hey sweetie. Thanks for stopping by and for your great comment. I love you answer to this weeks question. I read on your blogger profile that you like Firefly. I love that show too! Hence my occasional use of the word shiny. Well, keep it shiny. See you later.

  6. Thanks for stopping by!

    As for Mercedes Lackey, she has a little bit of everything, so it depends on what you like. If you’re into Historical Fiction, start with This Scepter’d Isle. If you prefer urban fantasy, start with Knight of Ghosts and Shadows. If you like redone fairytales either The Fire Rose or The Fairy Godmother would be perfect for you. Everything else is pretty much straight fantasy of different levels – For JRR Tolkein type start with The Outstretched Shadow, for YA type start with Joust, and for in between pick any novel in the Valdemar series’.

    Sorry that was a long and complicated answer to what should have been an easy question. Wherever you decide to start, I would suggest trying a little bit of everything she does, cause she’s just that good! Hope this helps =)

    • Thanks for the detailed reply! She has so many books I had no idea how to sort them, so this helps a lot. Although I’m not quite sure which category I like best. Sounds like great reading whichever one I start with!

  7. I can’t wait for Shades of Grey to come out in paperback! I feel like I’ve been waiting forever for a new Fforde book and I’m looking forward to a new series from him. Though of course I’d be thrilled with new Thursday Next and/or Nursery Crime books as well!

  8. Thanks so much to everyone on the Blog Hop who stopped by and commented! I got a lot of great reading suggestions from the Hop this week and found a lot of new blogs to follow. If you stopped by and liked what you saw I hope you’ll think about subscribing!

Leave a Reply

