E-Reader News and Reviews

No More Kindles?

The big Kindle news today was that Amazon has sold out of the 6 inch Kindle 2 model.  No information forthcoming about when Kindles might be back in stock.  So what does that mean?  It means the Kindle is selling well for one thing, and that’s good news for us Kindle fans.  And what I hope it means is a new Kindle Version 3 on its way.  One article I read said an announcement was rumored for August.  I hope so!  But I’m steeling myself to wait until the holidays.

So if you’re thinking about getting an e-reader, what do you do now?  Do you wait or try a different one?  Is this a brilliant marketing move by Amazon or a stockroom screw-up?

Last week Amazon announced that they were selling more Kindle books than hardcovers.  That didn’t surprise me any, I hate hardcovers.   They cost too much, they’re heavy  to hold and uncomfortable to read, and take up way too much shelf space.  I’m amazed publishers still print hardcovers at all.  So I didn’t think last week’s announcement was big news but the papers did.  I wonder if the prominence of the Kindle in the press last week led to this week’s sell-out?  Of course the price drop had a lot to do with it.

Personally I think the IPad has helped the Kindle – it got everyone talking about whether to buy an IPad or an e-reader.  Before the question was just am I ready for an e-reader?  Now it’s which one should I buy?  Plus, the Kindle now looks cheap compared to the IPad!

Well, most of you know my opinion – if you want something that does lots of cool stuff, buy an IPad.  But if you really want to read on it, buy an e-reader.

So what’s next for Kindle 3?  Touch screen? Color?  Cool book graphics?  I’ll let you know when I hear something.  Personally, I just hope Amazon doesn’t change what Kindle already does so well.  I want easy to read, easy to sort, easy to hold and turn pages, easy to search.  And my old Kindle Version 1 does those things pretty well.

Still, I can’t wait to see what comes next.

2 thoughts on “No More Kindles?

  1. Just checked the Amazon website and there is a WiFi Kindle due out on August 27 for $139! I don’t know how different it is from previous versions, but I really like the price.

Leave a Reply

