Blog Events

This Week’s Blog Hop

This week on the Blog Hop, hosted by Crazy-for-Books, the question is, what is your favorite new-to-you author this year?

So many choices! I thought about Gail Carriger, Suzanne Collins, Garth Nix, C.S. Harris, and Carrie Vaughn. And then I picked two others you might not have heard of.

The first is an author who is new to everyone, because this is her first book: Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson. Major Pettigrew is about a stuffy older gentleman in a small English town, who meets a Pakistani woman and they find themselves drawn to each other. Not surprisingly, the town disapproves but this also aggravates the complicated relationships these two characters have with their adult children and other family members. Romance isn’t the real story here; I found myself thinking a lot about my relationships with my parents and how we get entrenched in roles and assumptions that can be very hard to change. The way the character of Major Pettigrew evolves is wonderful to read.

My other pick is Jonathan Tropper, whose most recent book is called This is Where I Leave You, but this year I read two others: How to Talk To a Widower and The Book of Joe. Tropper writes modern fiction — Amazon compares him to Tom Perrotta, but I think he’s a little more like an American Nick Hornby. The writing is really light but packs a real emotional punch. Tropper writes like a guy anyone might know, and reading his books I feel like I understand just a little bit more how guys think. Tropper isn’t Hornby, and I don’t know if he’s the BEST writer I’ve read this year. But the two books I read were smart, funny, sad, painful, and fun to read all at the same time. I definitely recommend people give him a try.

7 thoughts on “This Week’s Blog Hop

  1. Here from the Hop. I’ve been hearing about Major Pettigrew and it sounds like an interesting book. I think I’m going to have to hunt it down and see for myself what I think of it.

  2. Hi! Thanks for stopping by through the hop. Looking over at your recent top picks, you’re the second person this weekend I’ve seen to mention Maggie O’Farrell–I think I should check her out! I’ve been seeing Jasper Fforde quite a bit lately, too.

    Sigh. So many books, so little time!

  3. Hi Deb 🙂

    I’m really keen to read the Helen Simonson book – I’ve been waiting forever for the paperback, it’s getting so that I might just buy the hardcover while it’s still around.

    I haven’t heard of Jonathan Tropper but I do like Nick Horny – who also makes me think of Douglas Coupland as a Canadian version, though he doesn’t have as much of the humour I think.

    • I forget with the Kindle that I’m reading books before they are out in paperback! I hate that wait between hardback and paperback release, because I never want to lug around a hardback. It is a great book though, and not out in PB until November.

Leave a Reply

