Uncategorized

On Nine Years of Marriage…

My anniversary was last week – nine years of absolutely-almost-always-perfect bliss.  Believe me when I say I could not ask for more. On the day of our anniversary, we had plans, made months ago, for a summer evening picnic and jazz concert.  Unfortunately work intervened and I ended up working until 10:30 pm, he ended up picking me up so I didn’t have to ride the train home late, and we both ended up eating the tickets.

A miserable anniversary all the way around, and one that left me feeling like a pretty lousy spouse.

My husband, on the other hand, not only wasn’t annoyed (working this late is a rare occasion for me), he even helped me create this new banner on my blog.   I hope you all like it as much as I do.  I’ve seen bookshelf-art on other book blogs and thought it would really liven the page.  Thanks honey.

And, since I’m reading a book of blog excerpts by John Scalzi, whose blog is Whatever, I thought I’d pass along a few of his words of wisdom.

I’ll be married nine years next June 17th.  During all that time, there hasn’t been a single day where I haven’t said “I love you” to my spouse – several times if at all possible.  The two facts are related.

Other short phrases which also occasionally come in handy: “I’m sorry,” “you’re right,” “I’ll get that” and “Of course I’ll go down to the freezer and get you some ice cream, even though it’s 3 am and you woke me from a dead sleep. There’s nothing I’d rather do.” Okay so that last one is not that short.  Think about all the times you’re entirely unreasonable, and then go get the ice cream.

Am I the person in this scenario that would get up at 3 am and get the ice cream?  I’m afraid, given the way I normally wake up, probably not.  But I like the idea that this is what marriage is about.  And I can always try a little bit harder to be that person.

Leave a Reply

