Blog Events

On the Hop: how we network our blogs

It’s time for another Blog Hop.  I hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!  I am personally mourning the end of summer, even though fall is a beautiful season.  At least I have football to compensate for having to pull  jeans and jackets out of my closet.  So, on to our topic for discussion, which is “How do you spread the word about your blog?”

I know that people who don’t blog are surprised by the amount of networking that blogging requires.  I could write the best blog in the world but without networking no one’s reading it.  And I take that back about writing the best blog, because I become a better blogger when I read lots of other book blogs. (try saying that a few times fast…)

For networking, I use BookBlogs.ning, the Hop, and occasionally other memes.  But with really limited time I don’t “meme” too much because I really want to write (and read) book reviews.

I’m really interested in hearing from other bloggers about how they network.  I’m on Goodreads and LibraryThing but I haven’t figured out how to use them to promote my blog.   I don’t use Facebook or Twitter — Facebook because I don’t want to cross personal and blog lines, and Twitter because I just haven’t.

Now I have a lot of great book blogs that I follow, so mostly I try to just read and comment.  I think that works the best.  One of my favorite things about blogging is feeling like I’m part of a community, and reading and commenting regularly on the same blogs is what builds those relationships.

While I’m here I want to thank Weekend Reader at Too Many Books, Too Little Time for her Versatile Blogger award yesterday!  She has a great blog (see her recent posts on Room and Freedom) so that was a real treat.

And on the subject of networking, I wanted to share some other WordPress blogs I read – I continue to think it’s harder for us WordPressers to generate followers, or at least to track how many followers we have.   So here are some favorite and some newly discovered blogs you should check out:

Too Many Books Too Little Time

Every Book and Cranny

Little Red Reviewer

On a Pale Star

What You Read

A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook

Zee’s Wordly Obsessions

All The Books I Can Read

8 thoughts on “On the Hop: how we network our blogs

  1. I go most of the same networking routes you do: Book Blogs ning and commenting on others blogs. I think reading and commenting on others is really the best way to get quality readers yourself! I have heard a few people rave about using Twitter to promote their blog, so I may give that a try as well.

  2. Hi. I found you on the hop. I think meaningful comments on blog posting is the best way to network. I do have a twitter account, but I don’t use it very much lately. I hope you have a fantastic weekend.

    I really like your reviews and look forward to reading more of them.

  3. Commenting on other blogs is so far my favorite form of networking. I’m attempting to use Twitter but it’s not really my thing. Hope you are having a great weekend!

  4. thanks for mentioning my blog in your post! I’m off to check out the others you posted.

    Maybe that should be a new Meme? Post 5 blogs you want to promote?

  5. I really have to try the Book Blogs Ning, I keep seeing it mentioned while reading this week’s Hop posts! I did get a Twitter, which I never thought I would do, but for keeping up on news from authors and publishers and editors, as well as sharing my blog, it’s been fantastic. Happy Hopping!

  6. Hi, great post. I started blogging late last year but have no idea how many people are following me or even reading my posts. (I’m also on wordpress.) I’m a publicist and always get asked either about publicity or publishing so my blog is more information rather than review-driven. I’m also on Twitter but don’t think I’ve quite gotten the hang of it. I will definitely try to read and comment more.

    Thanks!
    Marcia

  7. I don’t really do memes or bloghops or stuff like that. Mostly because I hate feeling obliged to make visits or having to do the scratch me back thing.

    WordPress is really good about putting WP blogs up in Google search though. I get a ton of casual visits from google searches & I always find it funny to see what search terms lead people to my blog.

Leave a Reply

