Book to Movie News and Reviews / E-Reader News and Reviews

Odds and Ends, and Harry Potter

Today I’m just posting some odds and ends as I work on my next review.  Once I finish that one, I’ll actually be caught up, which I don’t think has happened since I started this blog.

Kindle in the news:

An interesting piece of Kindle news recently was Amazon’s announcement that Kindle will soon allow owners to loan books to other Kindle readers.  Publishers will have to choose this feature; it won’t be available for all books.  The book can be lent for a 14 day period and during that time, the owner won’t have access to the book.

Amazon has also announced that this year, people will be able to buy Kindle books as gifts.  Less newsworthy than the lending feature, but still an improvement.  I’d much rather buy someone a book I really like than just give them a gift certificate.

Amazon also will give a higher percentage of royalties to publishers of newspapers and periodicals.  Hopefully this will keep prices down, and ensure that more publishers will make their publications available on Kindle.

With the holidays coming up, are you thinking about buying an e-reader for yourself or someone else?  Which one?  There are so many options.   There are plenty of blogs specializing in e-reader reviews, but here’s one to start with.  It looks like the Nook has established itself as a credible Kindle alternative.  If you have one I’d love to hear what you think.

What I’m reading:

I just started a book called The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer, about a Jewish family in Hungary on the eve of World War II.  The main character is a young man named Andras who has just moved to Paris to begin school as an architect. He has a sibling in Italy and the rest of his family in Hungary.  It’s 1938, anti-semitism is rising and of course it’s about to get much, much worse for Andras, his siblings, and his Jewish friends in Paris.  So far, it’s engaging and well written but also seems like a pretty standard drama – but I know that will change given the historical events about to unfold. I’ve already learned more about Czechoslovakia and Hungary’s roles in WWII than I knew before.  My husband I are planning an Eastern Europe trip, hopefully for the spring, so I can see a lot of the countries my grandparents and great grandparents came from. This book should make for interesting (and I expect heartbreaking) reading.

Please vote in the poll:

My Kindle is bursting with recent purchases and lots and lots of sample chapters.  I’ve created a few polls so people can help me decide what to read next!  If you’ve read any of these books and recommend them, please vote.  I’ll change up the poll every couple of weeks.

Best books of 2010:

It’s that time of year.  Amazon has its “Best Books of 2010” here.  Under their Literature and Fiction category, books I read and enjoyed are Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and The Hand that First Held Mine.  I’ll post more on Best Book Lists once the New York Times releases its Notable Books list.  Meanwhile, check out this cool blog where you can nominate your own favorites in the categories of literary fiction, nonfiction, GLBTQ, mystery, and speculative.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows:

Well, I wasn’t at the midnight opening and I wasn’t wearing a scarf or cape – but I was ridiculously excited to see Harry Potter Friday night.  Book 7 is tough to make into a movie – even split into two movies, there is way too much to cover.  The NY Times does a better job than I could of reviewing the movie so see here.  This way I don’t spoil anything if you’re like me and hate to read reviews before you see something.  So, did you go, and how did you like it?

4 thoughts on “Odds and Ends, and Harry Potter

  1. I’m thinking of finally giving in and getting a Kindle for xmas. I keep going back and forth about it and after reading reviews about the ereaders all over (especially on your blog) I think the ereader is something I’ll use and like.

  2. I was a little skeptical as the HP movie got started, however, even though it was “slower and sadder” (as the NYT article said) than the others, I thought it shaped up to be one of the best films of the series. There were good special effects, however, it wasn’t as driven by the effects as the other films, but more character focused.

  3. Voted in your poll; if you choose that one, hope you like it!
    I have not seen any of the Harry Potter movies, although my husband and daughter have seen them all and plan to see the new one soon.

Leave a Reply

