Uncategorized

Reading Down My Kindle

Happy January!  I’ve decided to call January “Read What’s On My Kindle” month.  I have 20-30 books I’m thinking about buying but I have 13 books already purchased ready and waiting.  It’s time to knock some of those out before I buy any more.

Now most of these are classics and therefore free.  On the classics “pile” I have The Complete Sherlock Holmes (I’ve read some of this); The Moonstone, The Picture of Dorian Gray, A Pair of Blue Eyes, Daniel Deronda, Anna Karenina, The Three Musketeers, The Count of Monte Cristo, and Bleak House.  A little bit of light reading, eh? I’m not planning to read more than one or two of these in January, but the question is which ones?  I’m leaning towards Dorian Gray and one of the Dumas books, but I’m not sure which one.

On the non-free pile I have The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell; Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins; What Remains of Heaven by CS Harris; and One Day by David Nicholls.

On my To Be Bought list? I know I want to read Room.  Stephen King’s Full Dark No Stars.  On the fluffy side, Clockwork Angel and Terry Pratchett’s The Wee Free Men.  And New York Times Notables The Imperfectionists, Great House, To the End of the Land, Super Sad True Love Story, and The Long Song.

There’s also a cool-looking anthology called Songs of Love and Death that has short stories by Diana Gabaldon, Neil Gaiman, Jim Butcher and Carrie Vaughn, to name a few.

And then in March I get new books by Patricia Briggs, Jasper Fforde, Kate Atkinson, and Patrick Rothfuss.

At the moment I’m finishing up Dark Road to Darjeeling (I love Deanna Raybourn’s books) and trying to get through a book called Dust by Elizabeth Bear.  My husband and I are reading it for a Female Science Fiction Writers book club but I’m afraid neither of us are too happy with it.  You’ll hear more soon – my husband has even agreed (hooray!) to write a guest review.  I’m also working on posts for The Wizard of Oz, the Hobbit, and Lirael.  December was a great month for fantasy reading.

I’m no fan of winter but I’ll gladly take a few snow days if it means settling in by the fireplace with some good books.  So if it’s going to snow, here’s hoping for lots of it rather than the little dribs and drabs that only make my commute difficult.  Enjoy what you can of January, and stay warm.

8 thoughts on “Reading Down My Kindle

  1. I’m actually reading Count of Monte Cristo on my Kindle right now! (And I have a lot of the classics you mentioned waiting for me…) I’m in a similar situation that there are several I want to purchase but I really think I should read some of what I already have first. Looking forward to hearing what you decide on!

  2. The problem with the kindle is that they dont feel like real books so I end up buying loads which I now have to get through. I’ve just done a review of Full Dark but the others look really good to.

  3. I have quite a few downloaded to my Nook and I just posted about how in love I am with e-reading because I read much faster. I’ve downloaded a bunch of new stuff in the last week, but of my backlog I really need to tackle The Help, The Glass Room and Case Histories.

  4. Oooh, Room. I’ve been thinking about that one for a while, but honestly, it looks like it’s the kind of story that will make me an emotional wreck as I read, and I’m not sure I’m ready for that. But it also looks amazing, so I’m torn.

    I too have a number of books I already own to go through before I buy new ones–physical and electronic. I’m so bad about buying…and then not reading, and buying more. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

