Blog Hops and Other Memes

Weekly Geeks: Favorite Bookish Quotes

Happy Saturday, and first I want to remind folks to sign up for my Birthday Blog Giveaway here.  For my one-year blog-iversary I’m giving away a $20 gift certificate or any book I’ve reviewed on this blog. Just tell me about a book you’re currently reading — I just started War and Peace, and feeling pretty good about it, I have to admit.  I’ll keep you posted.

This week’s Weekly Geeks assignment is to share a favorite bookish quote. My quote is from Madeleine L’Engle, who wrote one of my favorite children’s/YA books, A Wrinkle in Time:

You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.

I think some of the most difficult, challenging and traumatic subjects make for great children’s literature — and great adult literature too.  Wrinkle in Time is a good example.  On that topic, I read an interesting post recently about why it’s OKAY that YA books are so dark, and why we don’t need to worry about children reading dark fiction (although there’s a big difference between tough themes, paranormal “darkness”, and the kind of serious violence described in the original article).  Food for thought.

And with that, happy Saturday, and

 

 

One thought on “Weekly Geeks: Favorite Bookish Quotes

  1. I really enjoy Madeline L’Engle’s books. I liked how she managed to allow science and religion to exist simultaneously in her novels. I also really enjoyed that her protagonists (at least in the Time Quartet) were total nerds, and were odd and unique and awesome. I remember thinking that I wanted to be like Mrs. Murray when I grew up, and have multiple PHDs.

Leave a Reply

