Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday: What are You Reading?

Last week was good for reading — I finished T.C. Boyle’s When the Killing’s Done, and then I turned to a few quick-and-easy reads, Heartless by Gail Carriger and What Remains of Heaven by C.S. Harris.

There’s not too much I can say about Heartless and What Remains, since both are books in series.  Carriger’s series is steampunk/fantasy and Harris’ is Regency-era historic mystery.  Great stuff if you like that sort of thing, and I do.  It’s hard to write about series books without giving away too much about the story.  I’ll write a little more about Heartless in a future post, but for now I’ll just say that both books were strong additions to their series.

To answer a question I’ve gotten a lot lately, yes, I’m still reading War and Peace.  This week I finished Book Two, Part One.  I’m finding that different translations track the sections differently, which is very frustrating as I try to read other blogs’ comments on the book without finding out too much about what is to come (check out the Readalong at What She Read).

I started writing some thoughts about W&P but then wrote so much it turned into a post of its own.  So I’ll set that aside for now.  It won’t do to give a book like War and Peace short shrift.

On the lighter side, I’m also reading a children’s fantasy/sci fi called The True Meaning of Smekday, by Adam Rex. More on that to come — I don’t have an opinion just yet.

What next?  I’m thinking about Room by Emma Donoghue, or Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb, or the books I mentioned in my last post.  For now I’m going to keep working on War and Peace.  I have a vacation coming up, and I look forward to lots of time for fluffy reading.

Hope it was a good Monday, and your week goes smoothly.  Here’s to the weekend coming around soon.

Leave a Reply

