Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

It’s the Monday after a busy weekend of work and -finally- taking the GRE.  It was also a gorgeous fall weekend and a fairly disappointing football weekend.  And here it is, Monday again.

I haven’t been blogging much lately, thanks to the GRE, and you can expect that trend to continue through at least Thanksgiving, due to a huge increase in work responsibility that’s come my way.  So look for about a post a week, and short reviews at that.  Hopefully The Book Stop will be back to full strength in a few months.

But even at our busiest, we don’t stop reading, right?  Right now, I’m reading Started Early, Took My Dog by Kate Atkinson (British drama/mystery), and Small Island by Andrea Levy (historical fiction taking place in Jamaica and England during World War II).

Since I wrote last, I’ve finished three books:

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan.  Very cool book.  It’s almost more a short book of poetry than a novel.  Levithan tells the story of a relationship by writing dictionary entries for relevant words, like fabrication, halcyon (one of my GRE vocabulary words), obstinate, persevere, and quixotic (another GRE vocabulary word). It probably sounds strange, and it is, but it’s written beautifully.  Levithan describes his two characters so vividly I found myself identifying with both of them for different reasons.  He goes right to the heart of what a relationship is about.

Goliath by Scott Westerfeld.  You probably know where I’m going with this one.  Westerfeld is one of my favorites, and this book, the third in the Leviathan series, is full of wonderful.  Or, awesome-sauce (which is not on the GRE list but a cool expression I’m not nearly young enough to use).    The series is steampunk/alternative history where World War I is fought between the Darwinists and the Clankers.  The story involves Nikolai Tesla, William Randolph Hearst, Pancho Villa, and other noteworthy historical characters, as well as a perspicacious loris.  Perspicacious being another of my vocabulary words, and possibly one of my favorites.

Masques by Patricia Briggs.  Masques is Briggs’ first novel, and no one read it when it came out, so now it’s been edited a little and reissued.  If you’re a Briggs fan, as I am, you’ll enjoy the book and will definitely see shades of Mercy Thompson in the main character, Aralorn.  Even if you’re not a big Briggs fan, it’s a good fantasy read and I’m looking forward to the sequel.

And, I’m proud to say I reached the halfway mark in War and Peace — yes, I’m still reading it, and just finished Book Two.  I actually found myself reading late one night and couldn’t put it down.  War and Peace can be a soap opera at times, with love, marriage proposals, cheating, betrayal, etc.  Are the soap opera “parts” easier to read than the war parts?  Absolutely.  But Tolstoy also speaks eloquently about the meaning, and mostly the lack of meaning, of war.  It’s good all around. Just long.

So that’s all for me.  Hope it’s a happy Monday.  What are YOU reading?

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. I have Small Island to read too; not sure when I’ll get started on it! I’ve heard great things though.

    Got my copy of Goliath recently, can’t wait to get cracking on that one!

    Congrats on your progress in War and Peace! It’s one I haven’t tackled yet, though I do plan to. My book club did it this year but I had no ability to concentrate so I skipped it. 😦

Leave a Reply

