Challenges

2012 Challenges: What I’ll Be Reading Next Year

In a recent post, I talked about some interesting 2012 Reading Challenges.  Well, I went through my TBR list and the requirements of each challenge, and here’s what I came up with.

First, the To Be Read Challenge:  I have to select 12 books (plus two alternates) that have been on my shelf or TBR list for at least a year.

  1. Room by Emma Donoghue
  2. Ghostwritten by David Mitchell
  3. The Nobodies Album by Carolyn Parkhurst
  4. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  5. Pump Six and Other Stories by Paulo Bacigalupi
  6. The Strange Affair of Spring-Heeled Jack by Mark Hodder
  7. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
  8. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  9. Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  10. Alanna by Tamora Pierce
  11. Daniel Deronda by George Eliot
  12. The Report by Jessica Francis Kane
  13. (alt) Blackbird House by Alice Hoffman
  14. (alt) The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Challenge: While this Challenge is very specific, it also sounded like a great way to read or re-read books I’d always been interested in.  Plus I’m two in already.  And I think a lot of these will work for the Classics Challenge as well, even though classic horror/science fiction/adventure isn’t what people immediately think of when they think of classics.

  1. The Portrait of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (read and reviewed)
  2. Dracula by Bram Stoker (read; review pending)
  3. King Solomon’s Mines by H. Rider Haggard
  4. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
  5. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
  6. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  7. The Invisible Man by HG Wells
  8. The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux
  9. The Final Problem by Arthur Conan Doyle

  The Classics Challenge:  I have to read 7 classics during the year and discuss.  I can specify these in advance but I don’t have to.  Here’s what I’m thinking:

  1. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
  2. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
  3. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  4. Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  5. Daniel Deronda by George Eliot
  6. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
  7. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

Finally, there’s The New Author Challenge. I don’t have to specify in advance on this one either, I just post any 15 “new to me” authors I read and review.  Still, going through the above lists nets me at least these 9 new-to-me authors.

  1. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
  2. The Strange Affair of Spring-Heeled Jack by Mark Hodder
  3. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
  4. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  5. Alanna by Tamora Pierce
  6. The Report by Jessica Francis Kane
  7. King Solomon’s Mines by Rider Haggard
  8. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
  9. The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

So, that’s my reading list for 2012.  For the record, all of these challenges “allow” overlap, and I plan to take full advantage of that.  I count 23 different books on this list.  Will I actually read all these?  The classics list is daunting, especially since I still have about one-third of War and Peace to read.

The other problem is that I’m constantly changing my mind about books I want to read, so going into 2012 with a predetermined list may not work so well.  I’m always reading about books I want to check out.

But then again, these Challenges are for fun, and to inspire us to read new or different or more challenging books, or just to read those books we always mean to (because usually, it’s worth the effort).  I don’t feel like I have to finish every challenge I sign up for.  But I’ll do my best!

8 thoughts on “2012 Challenges: What I’ll Be Reading Next Year

  1. I’m doing the TBr and the Classic challenge too.. I’ve never really done challenges before so I’m a little scared/excited.

    Good luck with all of these!

  2. Glad you’re joining us in the 2012 TBR Pile Challenge! I’ve had my eye on The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and the Classics challenges as well – but I overloaded on challenges in 2011, so I’m deciding to do just two in this upcoming year – my own and the eBook challenge (since I just recently won a Nook, and this challenge will force me to actually read some ebooks, which I never planned to do!).

    Room could have made my list as well, and I love, love, love Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None! Bleak House and Catch-22 I hope to get to someday, and The Count of Monte Cristo is on my own Challenge list… looking forward to that one, and looking forward to your reviews!

    Good Luck!

    • Lol – And I just noticed you’re not reading the Christie. Not sure where that came from! I see you’re reading some Wilkie Collins, though – as am I (The Woman in White). It will be my first experience with Collins, but I want to get some of his works under my belt so I can finally read Dan Simmons’ Drood!

  3. Creating the lists is just TOO FUN! Good luck – you do have some daunting books there. I have read Room and Catch-22. I do what to read Count of Monte Cristo some day.

  4. Wow, you have a lot of your reading planned out! I’ve sort of figured out just the month of January, based mostly on what has to go back to the library. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

