Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday; What are You Reading?

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

War and Peace, that’s what!  I’m feeling the need to actually finish this book.  Now I’d like to say that I’m loving the book, but at this point I’m kind of just pushing through.  Sorry, Leo.  W&P is an amazing book and there are things I love about it… and then there’s the times when he goes on and on about military strategy or switches to obscure military characters I know nothing about.  I don’t want Napoleon and I don’t want Count Rostopchin —  I want more Pierre, Natasha, Andrei and Mary.  I didn’t put all that work into the first half of this book only to have these amazing characters dropped like hot potatoes.  I’m at roughly 80% according to my Kindle, and Tolstoy has thankfully gone back to his main characters.

I hate to say “I’ll be glad when I’m done” about any book – because if you feel that way you shouldn’t be wasting your time.  But this is one of the few.  I’m glad to be reading it, and especially glad to learn so much about Russian and French history.  But I’ll still be glad when I’m done.

In the last few weeks, I’ve finished The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, which is an awesome collection of Sherlock Holmes short stories that culminates in “The Final Problem”, a story I promised to read for my League of Extraordinary Gentleman challenge.  I’m in an informal mood tonight, so I’ll just say that Sherlock Holmes rocks.

I also finished The Strange Affair of Spring-Heeled Jack, a very cool steampunk/alternative history novel by Mark Hodder based on a Victorian folk legend.  Jack may be a myth but he’s one that real people reported encountering throughout the 1800s and even into the 1900s. Review coming soon.

I also finished a fascinating nonfiction book called Aspergirls by Rudy Simone, which I hope to write more about in a future post.  This is a book about girls who have Asperger’s Syndrome.  Until very recently doctors didn’t think girls could even have Asperger’s, but it turns out girls just hide atypical behavior much better than boys.  There’s a lesson in that somewhere.

So what’s next?  Do I push on through the last fifth of War and Peace or switch to something lighter?  My niece is involved in a Newbery Award challenge in her middle school and I’m seriously thinking about taking up some of those books.  I looked at the list and there are so many great Newbery books I haven’t read!  (Some of my favorites: A Wrinkle in Time, Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH, and Dr. Doolittle).  One Newbery winner is already on my Challenge List, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, so maybe that’s next.  There’s also a new release by a favorite author of mine, Margot Livesey.  Okay, the TBR list is growing and it’s only January.

Lastly, want to thank my good friend Tracy over at The Logy Express, for giving me a Liebster award!  For those of us who don’t speak German, this means “beloved person” and is a chance to recognize five favorite blogs.  I’ll definitely return the favor in an upcoming post.  That was an awesome way to start my day.  Logy Express is one of my favorite blogs, in part because Tracy writes about the kinds of things I don’t quite dare to.  So check it out.

Hope everyone has a happy – and warm – Monday.

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday; What are You Reading?

    • I don’t usually read a book because I feel like I should — but this one I’m determined to finish. I don’t know that I get a medal for it or anything (although maybe there’s one out there). A lot of people have said they really loved it. I’m somewhere inbetween.

  1. I just read “Mrs. Frisby” for the first time a couple of years ago, and loved it. Yes, there are some fantastic books on the list of Newbery winners — many I should read. Good luck with W&P — I’ve started it several times, but never got all the way through.

    • Mrs. Frisby was one of my favorites. There are so many great books on the list, although I was actually surprised by how many I’ve never read. I picked out five I want to try.

  2. I really wanted Liebster to mean something about loving my monkey, oh well.

    Thanks for the return link! I don’t understand how you read more than one book at once. If I put down War and Peace, I’d never pick it up again. I used to keep our copy by the phone and read it to heavy-breathing crank callers until THEY hung up on ME. I didn’t get far in it is what I’m saying.

  3. I admire you for tackling War and Peace. I started it, read about 50 pages and ran screaming. While I’m sure it’s a great book (history and literary criticism usually aren’t totally wrong), it also may not be for me!

    I’ve been looking to try some steampunk so I’m glad you mentioned The Strange Affair of Spring-Heeled Jack.

    • I really got into War and Peace at some point, I don’t remember how long it took though. I love the characters. The trouble for me is the long discussions of military strategy. The interesting part is reading about the war from the Russian point of view and having the French invade their country.

Leave a Reply

