Blog Hops and Other Memes / Uncategorized

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

It’s Monday, and in the U.S. it’s President’s Day, which means some of us have the day off and most of us don’t.  I’m one of the lucky ones, so I’ll spend the day catching up on some blog posts.  And, since I spent the weekend “hopping” on the Literary Giveaway Hop, there’s a lot to catch up on!

So first, thanks for all of you who entered my Giveaway, and especially those who signed up as followers.  I’m excited to be near 100 followers, which I know isn’t very much in the blogging world, but it’s a lot for me!  I’ll announce the three winners of the Giveaway this weekend.  You can still enter through Tuesday.  And I’m crossing my fingers and hope I’ve won something on one of the other blogs. 

Here’s what’s “on deck” for the coming week: I have a post about War and Peace for the February Classics Challenge, and I have my author interview with Mary Vensel White.  I’m also working on reviews of The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey, Alanna by Tamora Pierce, and Aspergirls by Rudy Simone, and I still have a wrap-up review of War and Peace to write. 

I’m actually in between books at the moment.  I’ve already been thinking that March needs to be a “read what I have” month, in part because my husband’s 40th birthday is at the end of the month, so I could stand to spend a little less on books this month and more on that perfect gift (which of course has yet to be determined).  But I also think March needs to be a “write more, read less” month, or I’m never going to catch up.  Because let’s face it, it’s not like I’m going to have more time. 

So, if I read what I have, I have lots of classics on the Kindle: Bleak House by Charles Dickens, The Count of Monte Cristo by Dumas, and the books for my League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Challenge: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, King Solomon’s Mines, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.  I also have a few fluffy paperback fantasies I can turn to if the classics get overwhelming.  I do wish Bleak House had a cheerier title, it would make it so much easier to get started.

One more thing and then I’ll go work on my reviews… did anyone see an article in yesterday’s New York Times about what to read on airplane flights?  Someone actually got an article published on the front page of the NYT travel section that basically says that a good mystery or fantasy novel makes a better flying read than War and Peace.  Wow.  I could have told them that.  The NYT can usually be counted on for an interesting read, but this was just lame.  First of all, everyone already knows what they like to read on airplanes, right?  And second of all, the fact that this guy likes PD James and George RR Martin doesn’t really tell me much.  I’m glad he’s found some books he likes to read on planes and I’m sorry it took him years to figure that out.  I wish someone would pay me to write about what makes a good airline read!  I also love how War and Peace is always this used as this metaphoric book no one wants to read. I think that’s the main reason I read it (just to be contrary as usual).

So, happy Monday everyone, and please enter the Giveaway if you haven’t already!  And thanks for reading. 

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. Your commentary on the NYTimes article had me cracking up! And I hope you don’t mind me quoting my favorite comment on that piece here – and I have to agree with one of the commenters that the article basically came off a little condescending – picking a book from the bestseller list *gasp*

    • Thanks for the comment! That was another thing I didn’t mention, so thanks for adding that — how defensive he was about actually reading and enjoying these “airplane” books.

  2. I’m looking forward to your wrap-up of War and Peace. Personally, I wouldn’t have expected to enjoy it as much as I did, having dragged myself through Anna Karenina last year most unhappily. But, in the end, the characters in War and Peace held my interest much more compellingly than those in Anna, and they seemed to take on lives of their own over time, so that I simply had to keep reading to find out what became of them.

    Congrats on your one hundred followers too. I’ve found that # of followers has little correlation to quality of content on book blogs. This is not to disparage those who appear to have huge followings, but rather to encourage you to offer up your thoughtful, richly detailed reviews, regardless of the number of people who appear to be reading them. Quality vs. quantity, no?

    • Thanks for the nice words about my reviews. I definitely enjoy writing them so it’s just nice a few people are reading; I feel like it gives me a little more space to write the way I want to. I thought I’d read Anna Karenina before War and Peace, but it sounds like maybe I made the right decision.

    • I’ve never written to an editor before but this might be one to write about. I just keep thinking – when so many of us write more interesting things about books, why aren’t we in the NYT? But then I’ve never tried.
      I loved your anniversary post! Congrats on your years of blogging.

Leave a Reply

