Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

You may not be able to tell, but things have been busy here at the Book Stop!

In addition to getting out the books I awarded in the literary Blog Hop (one is going to Ghana, and one to Malaysia), I’ve been busy hopping with a new group of bloggers called the We’re Not Mommy Blogs group.  This group is NOT anti-children, just a group of bloggers who don’t have children.  Since I’m always interested in exploring issues around NOT having children, I was excited to hear about this group. In the world of book-blogging, I don’t find excessive “mommy-ness” to be an issue – I love children’s books myself and I don’t mind hearing about what your children are reading.  But I think out there in the non-book-blog world, children do tend to take over the conversation.  I find that in real life at any rate. This group is also a nice way to find some non-book-blogs.  These blogs are writers writing about … well, lots of things.  Check it out if you’re interested.

Last week I picked up two new books from author requests, The Earthquake Machine by Mary Lowry and Under the Same Sky by Genevieve Graham.  I’m full up on taking review requests for now!  More to come on these books.  I’m excited, by the way, about the number of review requests I’m getting.  I know for a lot of bloggers that gets tiresome (and probably will after a while) but for now I’m still exploring this world of galleys, ARCs, etc. and it’s exciting to hear from writers and publishers.

I’m trying not to buy books in March, since the ones I have are piling up.  I did indulge in Gail Carriger’s latest book, Timeless.  And I was excited to visit a used bookstore last week where I found a fantastic selection of Newbery Medal books.   I spent $30 in a used bookstore on a huge pile of classic children’s literature, which I’ll then happily donate.  Money well spent!  This weekend I read the classic, From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, which was, in a word, awesome.

I also picked up, from the library, a beautiful copy of Brian Selznick’s The Invention of Hugo Cabret, which I’m excited to read.  This book is half illustration, half text, so I think will be much better read on paper than on Kindle.  I already love it and I just started.

Finally, I started Bleak House, which I’ll admit I’m struggling with a bit.  This book just doesn’t feel like the other Dickens books I’ve read.  But I just started and I’m hoping it will pick up some steam.

On the non-bookish side, I’ve been indulging this weekend in Monkees nostalgia, due to the sad, too-early death of Davy Jones.  Since I haven’t given Davy much thought in the last twenty years, his passing really shouldn’t bother me.  Still, the Monkees were a big part of my childhood, twice over – I watched all the shows as a child and got caught up in their mid-80s comeback as a teen.  In fact their reunion tour was one of my first concerts.  Anyways, listening to the music and watching the shows brought back a lot more nostalgia than I was expecting.  For the record, I didn’t have a favorite Monkee – Davy was cute (and could sing), Mickey funny, Peter sensitive, and Mike was the smart (and underappreciated) one.  They were the perfect combination.

And, for those of you with kids, my friend sent me this You Tube link of Davy singing “Your Personal Penguin” which is from a Sandra Boynton book.  See, I can always bring us back to books.  Enjoy.

So here’s to you, Davy — and Mickey, Peter, and Mike.   Thanks for the memories.

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. I gotta check out that Not Mommies thing. I’ve been running into bunches of no-mommy shout outs in the last week. Kinda nice after five years of “I don’t have any kids” being a conversation killer.

    in bookland, I just finished Charles deLint’s Eyes Like Leaves. beginning was a little rough, but characterization got awesome fast, and the end was excellent.

    • A conversation killer — exactly. What I hate is when almost anything you say about it sounds defensive. I try to just add “by choice” and leave it at that. I’m not familiar with the book you read but I looked it up, it sounds really cool.

  2. I’m so jealous of your used bookstore finds! I’m having such a good time sharing the books I loved as a girl with my little boy. I haven’t read From the Mixed up Files…in so many years!
    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

