Uncategorized

Reveling in My Geekiness: Felicia Day, Geek & Sundry, and Sword & Laser

I love being a geek.  I wish I could go back and say that to my horribly awkward teenage self, but then, today we have Felicia Day and Wil Wheaton, The Guild, The Big Bang Theory, and Mark Zuckerberg.  Back then the only nod to geekdom I can remember is The Revenge of the Nerds, which at least had that cool “We are the Champions” ending but the rest of it, let’s face it, made geekiness look about as much fun as the plague.  I suspect boys had it better than girls — boys had Dungeons and Dragons, Star Trek and Star Wars, comics and science fiction.  Of course girls had those too, but most of those felt way off limits to me, or stuff I was way too embarrassed to admit I liked.  Which is sad, since in those days it’s not like I had any social status to lose.

Of course it’s easy to look back and say “I’d have been so much happier if I’d just been myself”.  I didn’t know who that was back then.  At forty, I’ve totally gone over to the dark side, and thankfully I have a husband who is far geekier than I am and (hopefully) loves that I honestly love this stuff.  I don’t watch Star Trek and superhero movies for him.  I completely tolerate (and even respect) his infatuation with Felicia Day and in return he gets to live with my Thor-crush.  He’s even teaching me to play his Star Wars game, which I’m surprisingly excited about.

But I digress.  I really wanted to tell you about Felicia Day’s new You Tube network, called Geek and Sundry.  If you’re really geeky you probably know about it already.  It features about four or five shows, including one where Wil Wheaton plays strategy board games with his friends, and also has past seasons of The Guild (and if you haven’t seen them yet, you should).  But the one I’m really excited about, called Sword and Laser, is a video book club for fantasy and science fiction. It runs every two weeks with the first episode airing April 13.  It’s based on an already successful podcast hosted by Veronica Belmont and Tom Merritt.  The first book to be reviewed is The Magicians by Lev Grossman.  Have you read it?   They also have a corresponding group on GoodReads.  You should definitely check it out.  I’ve got my sample chapter of The Magicians downloaded and ready to go.

Geek and Sundry also has The Guild’s latest music video, “I’m the One That’s Cool.”  If you are or ever were a geek, check this out.  I love these guys.  The music doesn’t sound like much at first but it had me humming the tune all day.  This video probably takes my husband’s Felicia Day-love to startling new heights.  But I can live with that.

Happy weekend, and happy holiday if you’re celebrating something!  As always I’ve got lots of reviews to catch up on.  Next up is a review of a Jasper Fforde YA novel you may not have heard of called The Last Dragonslayer.   Thanks to What Red Read for the tipoff; I didn’t even know he had a YA series.  Fforde is just completely awesome, which is all I’ll say about that. I also took a break from Catch-22 and am finishing up Patricia Briggs’ latest instead – which I know will be over way too quickly.

2 thoughts on “Reveling in My Geekiness: Felicia Day, Geek & Sundry, and Sword & Laser

  1. Geeks unite! (oxymoron?)

    I played Dungeons and Dragons and avidly watched Star Wars reruns as a teenager; Star Wars loomed large in my adolescent years too. Perhaps it was because most of my friends and I acted in shows almost non-stop that none of us had time to notice that we were geeks? I’m sorry you didn’t grow up with such an accepting peer group but happy you found your perfect match in your husband and your tribe on YouTube!

    Now, I must admit that I clearly haven’t kept up with my geeky program because I have no idea who Felicia Day is. Time to hop over to her YouTube channel to find out. Thanks for the heads-up on that and on the Fforde YA series.

    Does the fact that I just started playing the Beta version of Castleville on FB redeem me in any way?

    p.s. I admire how you wove so much content – both autobiographical and bookish – into this post; you offered engaging personal reflection plus plenty of helpful information for your readers today!

  2. I’m just going to deal with your digression- hope that’s OK. I think the same thing about my teenage years but honestly, we wanted to be anything but ourselves. I just wanted to be like everyone else. Sad but true and I don’t know how different it is today. At least you’re owning your geekdom now- and so am I. Who has the energy to fight it?!

Leave a Reply

