Blog Hops and Other Memes / Challenges

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

It’s Monday, I worked late, and I just about have time for a “What are You Reading” post.

You may be thinking, I haven’t read much that’s literary in a while.  It’s true, I’ve been on kind of a fantasy jag lately: The Magicians, The Last Dragonslayer, Fair Game (all good stuff by the way).   In fact, to my chagrin, I recently started and put down two literary books I really wanted to read: Bleak House and Catch-22.

The good news is, right now I’m reading a book that’s been on my Literary TBR list for ages: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas.  I started it last year — I think during a bout with the flu, which may explain why I found it a little slow and stopped reading.  After my Catch-22 failure, I went back to Monte Cristo and it sucked me in immediately.  Dumas has always sounded to me like the perfect combination of swashbuckling adventure, romance and revenge.  I pictured it a little like The Princess Bride but without the humor.

I’m about a quarter of the way in and loving it.  It’s not quite the Princess Bride but it is quite an adventure.   Believable?  Hell, no.  But it’s got Napoleon and smugglers and grottoes full of treasure.  It’s a fair question whether Dumas is literature or merely 18th century fluff, but still I feel I’ve regained some of my literary cred.

So here’s a question for your Monday: how often do you give up on a book, but later pick it up again and love it?  I think sometimes we’re just not in the right mental place for a book.  Which means I’ll have to go back someday to North and South, Bleak House, and some of the other literary giants I’ve put down halfway.

I also thought this might be a good time to do a quick status update on my many 2012 challenges.  We’re about a third of the way through the year.  So, here’s how I’m doing:

  • I read 5 of 12 books in the To Be Read Challenge, and I’m currently reading one.  I started but didn’t finish two (so there goes my two alternates).
  • I read 5 of 9 books in the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Challenge (though only posted on 4)
  • I’ve read 13 new-to-me authors this year and I’m currently reading one (I’ve posted on 9 of them)
  • I’ve read 5 books that can be called classics (the Challenge is to read 7), but I’ve only posted at the Classics challenge once.

Overall, I made a list of 22 books to read in 2012 and I’ve read 10 of them.  So except for my two put-downs I’m doing pretty well!  Now I just have to get better about posting to all these different Challenge pages.

Those are my Literary Resolutions for 2012.  Part two of this post will be how I’m doing on my other New Year’s Resolutions.

So, happy Monday!  What are you reading?

One thought on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

Leave a Reply

