Uncategorized

Sunday meanderings: Monte Cristo and a few new reads

I realize it’s been a while since I’ve posted.  The main reason is that I’m knee-deep in Count of Monte Cristo.  It’s entertaining and hard to put down, but man is it LONG.  So there hasn’t been anything to review in a while.  Unlike War and Peace, I haven’t felt the need for lighter books on the side, so I’m just plowing through.

I’m thinking about the review although it’s always hard to review a classic.  What can I say that no one’s said before?  A lot of people find Edmund Dantes a favorite literary character, and I can see why.  He’s dark and brooding, handsome, AND super-intelligent.  I’m finding him a little disturbing too.  Still, his life is so full of pain and revenge you can’t help but feel bad for him.  I’m wondering how much of his humanity he’s lost in the whole revenge game.  I can’t wait to see how it all comes together.

I spent a lot of time yesterday, going through review requests that I’ve let pile up.  A few look promising, like The Mine by John Heldt. This is a book about a modern-day college senior who somehow is transported to 1941, and has to deal with the onset of World War II.

I also picked up two books on NetGalley: Mechanique by Genevieve Valentine and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. I can’t quite say what Mechanique is about, except it’s about a strange circus and is getting amazing reviews.  It’s also a finalist for the 2012 Locust Award for best first novel.  Verity is a young adult novel about a spy captured by the Gestapo and what she tells them.  Also getting some great reviews.

And I bought the newest Paulo Bacigalupi novel, The Drowned Cities, which is the sequel to Ship Breakers.  So now I definitely need to finish Monte Cristo.

2 thoughts on “Sunday meanderings: Monte Cristo and a few new reads

Leave a Reply

