Book to Movie News and Reviews

Just a catch-up, tired-of-work, glad-it’s-Friday, ready-for-wine post …

Dear readers, friends, and family,

I’m sorry about the lack of posting lately.  Everything’s all right, I’m just beat.  Had three lovely days in Southern California, then came back to three days of 10 hour workdays and mental exhaustion.  (You know I’m tired when I stop using pronouns.)  I know, there are worse things than a few long days.  It just makes it hard for me to WANT to sit at my computer and type.

And yet, I have lots of books that need reviewing.  I spent ten hours to CA and back strapped into a seat with nothing to do but read.  And I have to say thank you Virgin America and Glen Duncan (The Last Werewolf) for making ten hours on a plane almost pleasurable.

So thought I’d throw out there a few bookish news items that some of you might find interesting, and a few recommendations (until I get around to actually writing reviews).

The big news is there’s talk of a Sony Pictures cable series based on Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.  Awesome or oh-god-please-don’t?  I don’t know, but here’s where you can find out more.  The guy in charge, Ronald Moore, was the executive producer and developer for the Battlestar Galactica series (the remake) and also worked on Star Trek TNG.  How much control will Diana G. have?  Possibly not so much, but she will be consulted.  Moore is already working with Diana and says he’s a huge fan (but then so was Tim Burton when he made Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) and says he’ll do a faithful adaptation (again, Tim Burton).  No guarantees this will actually happen, but it sounds like the big success of Game of Thrones and True Blood is paving the way for TV series based on books.  And that’s a good thing.  I think.

The smaller news is, there’s a trailer out for an upcoming Wizard of Oz prequel.  Yes, you know I hate to have my favorite children’s books made into movies, but this one might be good for at least two reasons.  First reason: it’s an original story, not a remake.  Those of us who love the books (maybe just me) know that the Wizard’s back-story was pretty weak in the books and definitely allows for some creative interpretation.  In the books, the Wizard gets stranded in Oz, scares some warring witches with his Kansas “magic”, and creates the Emerald City while the witches are banished to the North, East, South and West.   Second reason: the casting gives me great, great hope that this will at least be a decent movie.  Rachel Weisz, Michele Williams, and Mila Kunis play three witches, and these are actresses that pick VERY GOOD movies. James Franco is the Wizard and he’s a pretty good picker too.  So I figure this has to be above-average.

On the book front, I just finished Glen Duncan’s The Last Werewolf (amazing); Alice Hoffman’s Blackbird House (beautiful prose); and Laura Carroll’s The Baby Matrix (will definitely make you think about overpopulation and why we pressure people so much to have children).  And I’m finishing up Redshirts.  All highly recommended!  It’s been a good reading week.

Next up?  The Bride of New France, Ready Player One, and – finally – Stephen King’s 11/22/63.  Maybe not all three at once.

Well, I planned for this to be short.  Now it’s off to make some dinner and settle in with a well-earned glass of wine.

Happy Friday and I’ll try to get some reviews up soon…

4 thoughts on “Just a catch-up, tired-of-work, glad-it’s-Friday, ready-for-wine post …

  1. So glad that you found The Laat Werewolf as gripping as I did; perfect plane fare. I wish you a weekend of relative ease and a lighter week ahead. I’m off to CA soon myself, but We’re driving it, so when I’m not at the helm, I’ll be tucked into three must-reviews. When I am indeed steering, I’ll have Outlander cranked up on audio via my iPad. Yes, I’m the one who’s not yet read it, and I’m glad to know you enjoyed it as much as mt other readerly pals did,

  2. I also just read that they’re going to be making The Cloud Atlas into a movie. One of my top 5 favorite books of all time. Like you, though, I’m nervous as to how well it can be done.

    • I loved Last Werewolf! I didn’t expect to, violence and killing and all. But what a story. I’m anxious to read Book 2 now, except I almost never pick up a sequel right after I finish a book. I like to let it settle in for a while.

Leave a Reply

