Challenges

The 2013 TBR Pile Challenge

Here’s my book list for Roof Beam Reader’s 2013 TBR Pile Challenge:

The rules: Identify 12 books and two alternates that have been on your To Be Read List for over a year.  This means none of the books can be published in 2012.  You don’t get to change this list once you’ve posted it.  Each book must be read and reviewed, and can’t be a re-read.  Lists must be posted by December 31 (I’m cutting it close).  If you complete the challenge you get entered in a drawing for a $50 gift card.

This year, I read 10 of the 14 books I proposed.  Only 6 people actually completed the challenge, so I’m in good company.  Had I pushed harder I could have gotten to 12, but I got lazy in December (and sick, and busy with holiday stuff).  Next year I won’t be leaving challenging reads like George Eliot or David Mitchell until December.

As I did this year, I’ll post my progress on this challenge on my 2013 Challenges page.

  1. Mansfield Park – Jane Austen
  2. The Tortilla Curtain – TC Boyle
  3. Caleb’s Crossing — Geraldine Brooks
  4. Daniel Deronda – George Eliot
  5. Gillespie and I – Jane Harris
  6. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
  7. On the Road – Jack Kerouac
  8. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle – Haruki Murakami
  9. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness
  10. Please Look After Mom — Kyung-sook Shin
  11. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Betty Smith
  12. The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie – Muriel Spark
  13. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain (alternate)
  14. Cat’s Cradle – Kurt Vonnegut (alternate)

5 thoughts on “The 2013 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. I’m planning on Mansfield Park too! I’m interested in reading The Remains of the Day as well. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is good, a little weird, but good. I just bought his book, Kafka on the Shore, and plan to read that as well. Happy reading!

  2. Glad you’re with us again in 2013! 10 out of 12 (or 14) is fantastic! I only made it to 11. Your list for 2013 is great – such a good year in reading ahead for you! I started Mansfield Park for Austen in August, but only made it about 1/3 of the way in. The Tortilla Curtain is good – important, but a bit self-absorbed (in my opinion). I really ant to read Danil Deronda and Remains of the Day, too. As well as A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles… so many of these could’ve made my own list! Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is incredible, as is Cat’s Cradle… two of my favorite books, right there. I wasn’t such a fan of On the Road, but it’s one everyone should read (especially every literature fan). As for A Monster Calls… I don’t even have words. Incredible experience – I said all I could in my review, so I don’t even try to explain beyond that. Good luck to you in 2013! Really excited for you. 🙂

  3. That’s a great lineup! I only read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn a couple of years ago, and wish I had read it when I was still a kid. I liked it now, but would’ve loved it then! I’m also reading Remains of the Day, for my TBR Challenge, so it’ll be interesting to compare notes. My Austen is a reread of P&P, seeing that it turns 200 this year. I’m reading a couple of Eliots myself (for the Back to the Classics Challenge) but holding off on Daniel Deronda until next year.

    Looking forward to reading your reviews in 2013.

  4. Pingback: The Classics Club Book Spin | The Book Stop

Leave a Reply

