Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

ImageIt’s Monday, What are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

This Monday, I’m actually in Southern California visiting my in-laws — my father-in-law had heart surgery last week.  He’s doing well but he and the family have been through a lot.  I’m doing what I can to help, which basically amounts to making fried eggs this morning for breakfast.  It’s not much, but I try.

So, what am I reading?  Recently I finished Jasper Fforde’s latest, The Woman Who Died A Lot.  Fforde’s books are always good although I hate to say it, but this series is starting to get a little old.  I think it’s time for new ideas and new characters.  Maybe Fforde could finally write a sequel to his brilliant but unfortunately-named Shades of Grey?

I also finished At Drake’s Command by David Wesley Hill.  This is a book sent to me by its author, and one I enjoyed.  It’s English nautical history, but written for non-nautical types like me.  I found it clever, entertaining, and never too difficult to understand.  I don’t know what that means for fans of C.S. Forester and Patrick O’Brien – I understand those books are for hard-core nautical history geeks.  But if you’re not entirely sure the difference between a fathom and a firkin, but you like a good story of exploration, adventure and piracy, this is a good book to check out.

I picked up a lot of books recently because a) I knew I’d be spending hours on a plane; and b) I got a new Kindle Paperwhite (yay!) but it doesn’t have 3G so now I feel I have to stock up when I leave the house.  Oh, and c) I signed up for challenges this year and I’ll be damned if I don’t finish them.  I’ve been reading pretty fluffy lately and felt it was time for something literary, so I picked up Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut and Please Look After Mom by Kyung Sook-Shin.  I also have NW by Zadie Smith and Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon.

On the plane I started A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith and it’s pretty amazing.  It’s set in 1912 from the perspective of Francie Nolan, an eleven year old growing up in a poor neighborhood in Brooklyn.  It’s a classic but one I’ve never read, so it’s on my list for the Classics Club and the TBR Pile Challenge.

I finally posted a review of The Round House — this was a challenging book to read and even more difficult to write about.  Also, I hope you saw my recent review of Descent, and my interview with its author.  It’s only my second author interview and I’m proud of it — and very impressed by this writer.  Please check it out.

It’s Monday and sunny here (if a little colder than Southern Cal ought to be).  I spent all last week away from my husband so I’m happy just to be with him.  Although spending a week on my own allowed me to watch the entire first season of Homeland, a show I’m now completely obsessed with.

So happy Monday — what are you reading?

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. You have so many good books coming up! A Tree Grows in Brooklyn…sigh, love that one. I haven’t read it in FOREVER but it’s on my list of books to get to again this year.

    Have a great week of reading! Enjoy your new Kindle 🙂

  2. I have just download a copy of a book called Theft of Hearts by an author called LB Bacchus. She’s new to me but so far I can’t put the book down. has anyone heard of her? Once I’m finished that I may try one of the books you reviewed because they look good.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s