It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

ImageIt’s Monday, What are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

This Monday, I’m actually in Southern California visiting my in-laws — my father-in-law had heart surgery last week.  He’s doing well but he and the family have been through a lot.  I’m doing what I can to help, which basically amounts to making fried eggs this morning for breakfast.  It’s not much, but I try.

So, what am I reading?  Recently I finished Jasper Fforde’s latest, The Woman Who Died A Lot.  Fforde’s books are always good although I hate to say it, but this series is starting to get a little old.  I think it’s time for new ideas and new characters.  Maybe Fforde could finally write a sequel to his brilliant but unfortunately-named Shades of Grey?

I also finished At Drake’s Command by David Wesley Hill.  This is a book sent to me by its author, and one I enjoyed.  It’s English nautical history, but written for non-nautical types like me.  I found it clever, entertaining, and never too difficult to understand.  I don’t know what that means for fans of C.S. Forester and Patrick O’Brien – I understand those books are for hard-core nautical history geeks.  But if you’re not entirely sure the difference between a fathom and a firkin, but you like a good story of exploration, adventure and piracy, this is a good book to check out.

I picked up a lot of books recently because a) I knew I’d be spending hours on a plane; and b) I got a new Kindle Paperwhite (yay!) but it doesn’t have 3G so now I feel I have to stock up when I leave the house.  Oh, and c) I signed up for challenges this year and I’ll be damned if I don’t finish them.  I’ve been reading pretty fluffy lately and felt it was time for something literary, so I picked up Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut and Please Look After Mom by Kyung Sook-Shin.  I also have NW by Zadie Smith and Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon.

On the plane I started A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith and it’s pretty amazing.  It’s set in 1912 from the perspective of Francie Nolan, an eleven year old growing up in a poor neighborhood in Brooklyn.  It’s a classic but one I’ve never read, so it’s on my list for the Classics Club and the TBR Pile Challenge.

I finally posted a review of The Round House — this was a challenging book to read and even more difficult to write about.  Also, I hope you saw my recent review of Descent, and my interview with its author.  It’s only my second author interview and I’m proud of it — and very impressed by this writer.  Please check it out.

It’s Monday and sunny here (if a little colder than Southern Cal ought to be).  I spent all last week away from my husband so I’m happy just to be with him.  Although spending a week on my own allowed me to watch the entire first season of Homeland, a show I’m now completely obsessed with.

So happy Monday — what are you reading?

5 Responses to “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?”

  1. Jennifer

    You have so many good books coming up! A Tree Grows in Brooklyn…sigh, love that one. I haven’t read it in FOREVER but it’s on my list of books to get to again this year.

    Have a great week of reading! Enjoy your new Kindle 🙂

    Reply
  2. Andi Miller

    You have some good-lookin’ books in your future. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on NW, Telegraph Avenue, and let’s face it, everything else! 😀

    Reply
  3. A Kameka

    I have just download a copy of a book called Theft of Hearts by an author called LB Bacchus. She’s new to me but so far I can’t put the book down. has anyone heard of her? Once I’m finished that I may try one of the books you reviewed because they look good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: