Blog Hops and Other Memes / Challenges

The Classics Club Book Spin

classicsclubThe Classics Club is doing something called a “Classics Spin”.  What is that?  First, I have to take my Classics Club list of 50 books and pick 20 I haven’t read.  I post the list, and on Monday the Classics Club will pick a number from 1-20, and that’s a book I have to read by April.

I’m also supposed to include some books on my list that are challenging or that I’m kind of nervous about reading.  I am going to “cheat” a little since I’ve piled on a lot of challenges this year, and include books that are also on my TBR Pile Challenge.

This seems like a good way to choose my next book, so here’s my list. Some short (Lois Lowry, Edgar Allen Poe), some long (George Eliot), some intimidating (Rudyard Kipling, William Faulkner). I even random-ordered it.

  1. Maugham, Somerset – Of Human Bondage
  2. Kipling, Rudyard – Kim
  3. James, Henry – The Portrait of a Lady
  4. Jackson, Shirley – The Haunting of Hill House
  5. Heinlein, Robert – Stranger in a Strange Land
  6. Twain, Mark – The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
  7. Murakami, Haruki – The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
  8. Ishiguro, Kazuo – The Remains of the Day
  9. Chopin, Kate – The Awakening
  10. Poe, Edgar Allen – The Raven
  11. McKinley, Robin — The Hero and the Crown
  12. Lowry, Lois — Number the Stars
  13. Eliot, George – Daniel Deronda
  14. Kerouac, Jack – On the Road
  15. Fitzgerald, F. Scott – Tender is the Night
  16. Austen, Jane – Mansfield Park
  17. Spark, Muriel – The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie
  18. Faulkner, William – Light in August
  19. Greene, Graham – The End of the Affair
  20. Vonnegut, Kurt – Cat’s Cradle

Of course I could choose my own book, but I’m a rule-follower at heart so I’ll do what I’m told.  Stay tuned to see what gets picked!

5 thoughts on “The Classics Club Book Spin

  1. I saw this morning that #14 is the winner. Good luck with On the Road! I didn’t have much luck when I tried reading it in print, but when I listened to the audio I did fine. Matt Dillon was the reader, which I was apprehensive about, but he did a great job.

  2. Pingback: Review of On the Road by Jack Kerouac | The Book Stop

Leave a Reply

