Award winners

More for your TBR Pile: Three Award Lists to Check Out

women's prizeMore for your reading lists!

I’m a little late on these, as usual, but I wanted to mention three award lists I’ve seen recently.  The first is the Women’s Prize for Fiction, which was formerly the Orange Prize for Fiction.  The Longlist for the 2013 Women’s Prize is listed here, and it has some great reads on it.  So far I’ve only read Life After Life and Gone Girl, but I’d like to read Where’d You Go Bernadette and Flight Behavior and I have The People of Forever from NetGalley.  I started Zadie Smith’s NW, but didn’t get very far.  The shortlist will be announced April 16.

I also saw the Miles Franklin Award longlist on All the Books I Can Read.  What is the Miles Franklin Award?

Australia’s most prestigious literary award was established through the will of the writer Stella Miles Franklin, best known for her novel My Brilliant Career. The bequest came as a surprise to the literary world as Franklin had told nobody – save her trustees – of her plans.

Miles Franklin had first-hand experience of the struggle to make a living as a writer and was herself the beneficiary of two literary prizes. She was also extremely conscious of the importance of fostering a uniquely Australian literature. She wrote,

“Without an indigenous literature, people can remain alien in their own soil.”

Accordingly, the Award is presented each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

Since I’m a little obsessed with Australia these days, this list is timed perfectly to give me some reading ideas before and during my trip.  There are two books on both longlists, The Light Between Oceans and Mateship with Birds.  Unfortunately I can’t get most of these books in the U.S. yet.  I think the only two I could buy for my Kindle were The Light Between Oceans and Floundering.

Finally, the Hugo award nominations were announced March 30.  Nominees for best science fiction novel:

  • 2312, Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Blackout, Mira Grant
  • Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance, Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas, John Scalzi (my review here)
  • Throne of the Crescent Moon, Saladin Ahmed

Have you read any of the books on these lists?  What do you recommend?

3 thoughts on “More for your TBR Pile: Three Award Lists to Check Out

  1. I love checking out award lists. I am reading some PEN/Faulkner nominees and winners this year. The award goes to a debut novel in the US. I’m discovering lots of new authors, which is lovely.

    Do you have a system for reading award winners or are you just more likely to pick one up?

    • PEN/Faulkner is another great award. I don’t have any plan to read award winners, I just like to make sure I’m reading things that are meaningful, and award lists are a good way to find new writers I wouldn’t know about otherwise.

Leave a Reply

