Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

mondayIt’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday, and I’m back at work!  I’d like to say I’m happy the shutdown is over – from a policy perspective I am, but those two weeks off were really nice.  You would think two weeks would feel like a long time but it flew by.  Some of that time was spent on an awesome visit to see my family in Phoenix, so it wasn’t all sitting around at home – plus I had lots of homework (and housework) to do.

Going back to work last week was tough – big deadlines missed, tons of work to make up, and a surprising number of staff who seemed to have made other plans.  This week doesn’t look much easier, so already I have to say I’m missing my time off.  Part of me feels like I should have done more with it – cleaned the garage, redesigned my blog, etc.  But the other part of me is just really glad I took some time to relax, since it won’t come again any time soon.

So what have I been reading?  Here’s what I’ve read in October so far:

  • Every Day by David Levithan
  • Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews
  • Doctor Sleep by Stephen King
  • The Panopticon by Jenni Fagan
  • The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling)

It’s been a pretty “light” reading month, nothing too challenging, with one exception.  I  have to give a big “WOW” to The Panopticon.  A tough read, but amazing.   The problem with light reading is, it’s entertaining but it doesn’t move you.  I really liked Doctor Sleep and Cuckoo’s Calling, but only Panopticon left me an emotional wreck.  And that’s the read I’ll remember.

What’s next?  I’m not sure actually.  Here’s what I have on my Kindle, although I really want to read MaddAddam and The Lowland:

  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde
  • Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
  • The Worst Hard Time by Timothy Egan
  • Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

Suggestions?  Look for at least one new review and my last Doctor Sleep readalong post this week.

Happy Monday and happy back-to-work for the feds out there!  Whether I’m happy about it or not, at least we’re all back where we’re supposed to be.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. Jasper Fforde! I bought Song of the Quarkbeast for my birthday in August, and I’m impatiently waiting for the day when I can finally get to read it. All of his books are wonderful.

    You’re the second person I’ve seen say that The Panopticon is a “wow” book. Sounds like I may need to check that one out!

  2. I liked Fangirl a lot, heard a lot about it and I thought it lived up to the hype. And Huck Finn… would love to read that as an adult, read it as a kid and have fond memories of it. New follower.

Leave a Reply

