Uncategorized

Merry Christmas to all, from The Book Stop

20131222_190027

Merry Christmas!

It’s Christmas Eve so I wanted to wish everyone a very happy Christmas with family and friends!  Being Jewish, Christmas has always been an interesting holiday for me.  It’s something I’ve never taken for granted because it’s not my holiday.  When we were kids, Christmas was a day we didn’t know what to do with ourselves, a day we looked out in the neighborhood and imagined every other family having a wondrous time.   As an adult, I love getting caught up in all the festivities, although sometimes I wonder what all the fuss is about, and wouldn’t Christmas be nicer if it was just a little less stressful?

My husband and I have settled into celebrating the mix of Hanukkah and Christmas – we do a tree (pictured here) and hang stockings, and we also light the menorah and throw a Latke party in early December for all our friends.  We don’t have kids, so we miss a lot of the usual holiday traditions, like waiting in line to see Santa.  Honestly, missing the whole “pretending there’s a Santa” thing is a good thing — I’m a terrible liar and I just know someday I’ll be the one to break it to some kid that Santa isn’t real.

Usually, we travel to California this time of year to spend the holiday with my in-laws, but this year for various reasons (one of which is the three weeks of leave we spent in Australia), we’re staying home.  I’ll miss spending the week of Christmas with family; but I’m also glad to be home, to have some “us time”, to build some of our own traditions for this holiday.  My husband is the dearest person on the planet, and being with him IS the holiday.

So it’s a quiet week, mostly normal week for us.  We’ll make a nice dinner tonight, open up a good bottle of wine, and open gifts over breakfast in the morning.  We’ll call our family and tell them we love them.  And that will be more than enough.

There’s a week left in the calendar year, and I’m still working on my year-end wrap-up posts: a post on Best Books of 2013, my Blogging Resolutions for 2014, and a wrap-up of 2013 reading challenges and a list of 2014 reading challenges.

It’s been a fantastic year for reading and blogging, and everything else that matters.  Most of all I’m grateful for my two families, even if I won’t see them tomorrow – for their health and happiness and all the support they provide.

Have a wonderful Christmas or whatever you’re celebrating!  And thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas to all, from The Book Stop

  1. I loved learning more about how you guys spend your holiday combo. 🙂 This is the first year my son has really been interested in the idea of Santa, and I can already tell I’m going to be a horrendous liar. I almost slipped this morning (in my sleepy haze). lol I hope you had a great day!

    • Thanks and Merry Christmas! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one. My sister who has a teenager says that kids find out when they’re ready to, and everyone slips up. I’d still hate to be the one who does it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

