Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

mondayIt’s Monday is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

I haven’t done a Monday post in a while but I’m going to try doing one at the end of every month, as a monthly wrap-up.  How is your January going?  Our Christmas/New Year was nice and quiet, spent at home with just the husband.  I took two days off work, just for myself.  Then last week we headed to Northern California to visit my husband’s sister and then my sister.  We hiked (sort of) Mount Tamalpais and walked around the redwoods at Muir Woods.  I got to meet my four-month old niece, Emmie.  Then we spent two awesome days tasting wine in Sonoma with my sis and her husband.  It was such a perfect weekend, and a nice way to extend our holidays.  The only downside was coming back to DC and blizzard-like weather.  It’s really time to start thinking about moving to the other side of the country.

So, what have I been reading?

In January I posted reviews for these books:

I’m working on reviews for these books:

  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  • MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood
  • Kindred by Octavia Butler
  • Catching the Barramundi by Rebecca Burns

I also read about half of May We Be Forgiven by A.M. Homes.  This is the book that won the Women’s Prize in 2013.  It started out really intense, but then it just seemed to go on and on, and the tone of the book was so overwhelmingly negative I just couldn’t take it anymore.  Half of the book seemed to take me forever, so I put it down.  It’s pretty rare that I get halfway into a book and drop it, but I don’t feel bad about this one.

What I’m reading now: Skippy Dies by Paul Murray.  I have to admit it’s a bit slow to get into, but I’ve heard so many good things I’m sure it picks up.

What’s next?  I’m not sure, but I’ve got a few things on my Kindle, including The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt and Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver.  I’ve also got: San Miguel by T.C. Boyle, This is Paradise, by Kristiana Kahakauwila, and Insurgent by Veronica Roth.  Thanks to some holiday gift cards and my prize from the TBR Pile Challenge, I was able to stock up for a while.  There’s so much I want to read though!

So, it’s Monday and back to work and trudging through the cold.  Can you tell I’m feeling the winter blahs?  February is sounding like a long month (even though technically, it’s not).  At least there’s the Super Bowl to look forward to.

Stay warm everyone, and happy Monday – what are you reading?

13 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. I think we all get a case of the winter blues at some point (I think January is the most popular month for it), hold on in there, Spring isn’t tooooo far away.
    The Goldfinch has been very popular around the blogsphere of late.
    Happy Reading whatever it may be that you pick next!
    🙂

  2. Stick with Skippy Dies…I hope you like it, I did! I just finished The Circle and wouldn’t recommend it. That was on the heels of 50 Shades (a bookclub pick so we are all now relevant) and I needed something with a strong/smart woman character! I have several books on hold from the library and am looking forward to digging in during the blah winter weather we’ve been having. Stay warm and enjoy!

  3. Skippy Dies is one of those books I waited to read until the hype died down. I will be interested to see what you think.

    Stay warm this week and enjoy your books!

Leave a Reply

