Uncategorized

Looking for recommendations: what are some good hospital reads?

book giftMy sister had open heart surgery on Thursday.  Thankfully, the surgery went well and her recovery seems to be going well, too.  Big relief!  I’m flying to Wisconsin tomorrow to spend a week with her — I can’t wait to see her.

I wasn’t going to write about it, but it’s been a tough week.  More for her than for me of course!  But I have to say, being miles away, with nothing to do but sit and wait to hear, was harder and scarier than I expected.  And all the worse because I felt so dreadfully selfish, every time I wished someone would comfort ME.

My sis will be off her feet for a while, and I’m worried she’ll have a hard time resting.  She’s more of the get-up-and-go, take-care-of-everyone, run-marathons-in-her-spare-time type.  So I wanted to ask readers a question: what do you recommend for a hospital/recovery read?  She’s not a huge reader, so I can’t give you a good idea what she likes.  So just in general, what makes a good recovery read?

I think it needs to be light, easy to read, maybe something inspiring.  Something that grabs attention but doesn’t demand too much.  Something most people like.  Some of our ideas are Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and Wild by Cheryl Strayed.  I’m thinking The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion.  I haven’t read Tina Fey’s book, Bossypants, but most people love her.

What do you think?  Any recommendations?

Thanks!

16 thoughts on “Looking for recommendations: what are some good hospital reads?

      • Well, I liked it when I was in hospital. It is light, but not trivial, funny, warm-hearted, tells us something about the past, animals, human weaknesses, friendship, Yorkshire and its amazing scenery … It is a bit old-fashioned, but in a lovely way. Take care.

  1. I’ll send my prayers and good vibes to you, your sister and the rest of your family. My recs: You can’t go wrong with Rainbow Rowell. I just finished Attachments and LOVED it! Of course, I loved her other books, too. Also, The Lunar Chronicles are awesome. Fun, addicting, and reader friendly. I think just about anyone could fall in love with them (both readers and non-readers).

    Glad your sis’s surgery went well, and I’m glad you get to go visit her. Enjoy! 🙂

  2. I just finished BJ Novak’s new collection of stories and they were great — quick, funny and entertaining. Bill Bryson is always good, too!

    All the best to you and your family. Hope your sister is back on her feet soon.

  3. A good crime thriller could be in order – Louise Penny’s series featuring Inspector Gamache of the Quebec force is a cut above the rest because of its depiction of setting and great characterisation.

  4. I just wrote a post asking for book recommendations for someone else as well. Great minds.

    ANYWAY, book recommendations, definitely The Rosie Project and Bossypants. Also Where’d You Go, Bernadette? or Attachments. Bryson

  5. My first thought, before reading your entire post, was The Rosie Project! So definitely do that. How about Bridget Jones for another upbeat, quick read? I’m reading a lovely and quick YA book right now that would definitely divert too; it’s called Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. (I’m only 1/3 through, so I don’t know if there is any content that wouldn’t be recovery-worthy, but it’s beautifully written and Ari, the narrator-protagonist, is a character you can’t help but love, as is his one and only friend Dante.)
    If you can find a library, I would also suggest Peter Sis’s illustrated biography of Darwin titled Tree of Life or Chris Tan’s The Arrival because they are both beautiful experiences drawing on (pun intended) the visual as well as the narrative.
    Will be offering healing intentions for your sister too.

  6. If your sister is a dog fan, I would recommend “What the Dog Did” by Emily Yoffe or “You had me at Woof” by Julie Klam. Both books are about women who become active in dog rescue and unwittingly get in in over their heads! There are some sad moments, but there are many life-at-loud scenes for dog lovers!

Leave a Reply

