Blog Hops and Other Memes / Challenges

The R.I.P. IX Challenge

RIPIXIt’s September, which means it’s time for Stainless Steel Droppings’ R.I.P. challenge (R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril IX) (note the cool graphic by Abigail Larson.) For this challenge, you simply read books from any of the following categories:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

The challenge runs from September 1 to – you guessed it – October 31st. You can choose how many books you read – I’m going to try for “Peril the First” (4 reads). Plus there’s also a Haunting of Hill House Readalong over at The Estella Society which I plan to participate in.

HillHouseReadalongHere are some other RIP-eligible books I’m considering:

  • Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews (dark fantasy/supernatural)
  • Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn (suspense)
  • Joyland by Stephen King (horror)
  • Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell (supernatural)
  • Impartial Witness by Charles Todd (mystery)

Some other books I want to read are Lock In by John Scalzi, Wool by Hugh Howey, Heavens Queen by Rachel Bach, and The Humans by Matt Haig. Most of those are more sci fi than the above categories and I probably won’t get to them anyway.

So, happy almost-Halloween!  Feel free to join the fun at Stainless Steel Droppings.

4 thoughts on “The R.I.P. IX Challenge

  1. The Humans was one of my favourite books last year so I definitely recommend that! Joyland is good too – sort of more like a vintage style mystery with some twists than a horror but it’s great. And Dark Places is a really good choice if you want something dark but totally gripping. Great choices all round is what I’m saying, really! Hope you enjoy 🙂

    • Thanks for the feedback! I have way too many choices at the moment, and keep adding more. I accidentally wrote “Dark Objects” when I really meant “Sharp Objects” by Gillian Flynn. I’m reading that one now, I’m a little worried it will be TOO disturbing.

Leave a Reply

