Blog Hops and Other Memes / New to Me Author

Top Ten Tuesday: Top New-to-Me Authors in 2014

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is favorite new-to-me authors I read in 2014.  This post is also “co-hosted” by Estella’s Revenge A Month of Favorites.

I discovered a lot of fantastic authors this year, so here’s my list.

  1. Hannah Kent – Burial Rites
  2. Carol Rifka Brunt – Tell the Wolves I’m Home
  3. Helene Wecker – The Golem and the Jinni
  4. Octavia Butler — Kindred
  5. Pearl S. Buck – The Good Earth
  6. Mary Doria Russell – The Sparrow
  7. Kristiana Kahaukauwila – This is Paradise
  8. Will McIntosh – Love Minus Eighty
  9. Graeme Simsion – The Rosie Project
  10. Jo Walton – Among Others

I read a lot of review requests this year as well, and I wanted to highlight a few new-to-me authors that I highly enjoyed and recommend: Rebecca Burns’ Catching the Barramundi, Kim Vandervort’s Outcast, Glen Craney’s The Spider and the Stone, and Laline Paull’s The Bees.  One of the strangest books I read this year was Monica Byrne’s The Girl in the Road, but I still find myself thinking about it.

This was a tough list to make!  I tried to pick authors I know I’ll read more of.  I definitely want to read more Octavia Butler and I hear the sequel to The Sparrow is good.  Burial Rites, Tell the Wolves I’m Home, The Golem and the Jinni, The Bees, The Girl in the Road, and The Rosie Project are all first novels so I’m looking forward to what these authors do next.

Did you have any favorite new authors this year?  Do you tend to read books by authors you already know?  What else can you recommend by the authors I’ve listed?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top New-to-Me Authors in 2014

  1. I read my first Jo Walton book this year as well–mine was My Real Children. I didn’t adore it the way a lot of people did, but I did enjoy it, and I’d like to read more by her. I DID love The Girl in the Road, although I’ve seen a lot of mixed reactions to it. As you said, it’s a strange book, but I found it absolutely haunting.

    • Thanks for the comment! I think I felt the same about Jo Walton, I didn’t adore it but I do want to read more. The Girl in the Road fascinated me. Haunting is a good way to describe it.

  2. I loved The Golem and the Jinni and also Burial Rites. I’m looking forward to whatever the two authors come up with next. The Bees sounds like a very intriguing and unique book that I want to check out.

  3. So many good authors on your list! I read the Sparrow this year as well but had already read Doc by Mary Doria Russell a couple years ago. Doc is excellent as well! Love Minus Eighty was one of my top books of last year – I’d like to read more by McIntosh for sure! Jo Walton and Octavia Butler are both on my must get acquainted with soon list!

  4. I’ve seen Mary Doria Russell and Jo Walton on a couple of other lists as well — both excellent. I hope to get to The Bees (thanks to you) in January. I find that I do tend to read authors I know and didn’t discover so many new ones this year. A few that stood out: Nicola Griffith, Katherine Mansfield, Hampton Sides.

  5. Graeme Simsion made my list too! I actually just finished the second book “The Rosie Effect” a couple weeks ago and thought it was even better than the first one! =)
    I have a couple of your authors on my TBR (Hannah Kent, Octavia Butler) but just haven’t got around to reading them yet.
    Great list!!

  6. A book by a new author which has really stayed with me is Rebecca Mascull’s The Visitors. I nearly missed it as the cover didn’t appeal, and I feared it might be saccharine (absolutely not)Its set on the verge of the Boer War, and the central character is a young deaf/blind girl. Obviously the relationship between Helen Keller and her teacher was one springboard for Mascull’s imagination. I shall be eagerly looking forward to her new novel next year. Of the books you found this year, i absolutely concur with Burial Rites and tThe Golem and the Djinni

  7. Pingback: Farewell 2014! My Reading Wrap-Up | The Book Stop

Leave a Reply

