Uncategorized

It’s Monday, What are You Reading? March Wrap-Up

mondayIt’s Monday is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday, and I am knee-deep in papers and work stuff. At least I get to research things I’m interested in! I’m writing one paper on family literacy programs and another on how to motivate children to read. Sensing a theme here? If I’m not talking about reading, I’m studying it.

Here are some non-bookish things that made me happy this month:

  • Rob Thomas has a new show, iZombie, and it’s very Veronica Mars-ish. And that’s a good thing! The cheesy name almost scared me away – I would not have tuned in except for Rob Thomas, and I’m glad I did.  It’s clever but also pretty light.  So much TV seems really dark these days.
  • Strange snack foods: this month I discovered crispy peas and chickpea snacks. Both sound pretty bad but are surprisingly tasty and healthy! Of course like any snack food you can’t eat the whole bag – even the peas. Hungry Girl recommends seaweed snacks too, but that may be a bridge too far for me.
  • Speaking of which, Hungry Girl has a new cookbook coming out at the end of April! Okay, that’s bookish but I do love my Hungry Girl Diet Cookbook.
  • Outlander starting up again April 4!
  • My adorable husband turned a whopping 43 this week (I’m 9 months older). I’ve been kind of a bear lately and he’s been so supportive. He’s definitely my favorite non-bookish thing!

Here’s what I posted in March:

  • The Knife of Never Letting Go
  • Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed
  • Stone Mattress
  • Everything I Never Told You
  • The Silkworm and Faceless Killers
  • Healthy Slow Cooker Revolution
  • Books on my Spring TBR List

Here’s what I read in March:

  • The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs
  • Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer
  • Firefight by Brandon Sanderson
  • Breath, Eyes, Memory by Edwidge Danticat
  • Faceless Killers by Henning Mankell

My favorite read this month? The Lowland was really good, and I expected no less from Jhumpa Lahiri.  But the favorite definitely goes to Rubbernecker, an awesome story about a guy with Asperger’s Syndrome who solves a mystery when he dissects a cadaver in medical school.

The book I liked least?   I wanted to be a lot more moved by Breath, Eyes, Memory, a story about a girl who goes from Haiti to the U.S. and back again.

Here are the books I read for challenges:

  • TBR Pile: The Lowland and Breath, Eyes, Memory (6 of 12 books read already!)
  • Foodie: Healthy Slow Cooker Revolution
  • Around the World: The Lowland, Faceless Killers, and Breath Eyes Memory

What I’m reading now: Still working on The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James. It’s a bit of a slow read, and I’m taking my time. I’m also reading Uprooted, a review copy of the new Naomi Novik novel. I’m finding it kind of a slow read, as much as I love Novik. But then maybe I’m reading too much at one time.

So, happy Monday and happy spring! Hope it’s warmer where you are.  What are you reading?

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading? March Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

