Uncategorized

What should I read this summer?

summer-readingI’ve got plenty of books on my TBR list. But lately my reading choices have been driven by what’s come in at the library, rather than what I want to read — and that means I’m reading on a deadline.  It’s summer, and it feels like that’s a good time to let loose a little.

Maybe I’m just in a bit of a slump.  I’ve been reading The Paying Guests and after about a third of the book, I’m just not feeling it. It’s sexy, but also very repetitive. And aside from the sexuality, and a LOT of drinking, not much is happening. I do enjoy the 1920’s atmosphere, especially the discussion of how the war impacted class norms and the plight of unemployed veterans. But I think I might be ready to pack it in.

Before that I gave up on Yes Please by Amy Poehler, a book I expected to love but just didn’t warm to.

So putting aside challenges and library wait lists, I’m trying to think of what I want to read. And I thought I’d ask for help.  Of the books I have, what have you read? And what books do YOU want to hear about?

So you know, I don’t think summer reads need to be light.  But it is a good time to be a little bit frivolous,  a little adventurous.  Honestly, a summer read isn’t any different from any other read unless you’re traveling or sitting on the beach (which I hope to be doing at some point).

Here’s what’s on my Kindle:

  • Us by David Nicholls
  • We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas
  • House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
  • Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Shift by Hugh Howey

On loan from the library:

  • The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
  • Redeployment by Phil Klay
  • Frog Music by Emma Donoghue

And here’s what’s on my bookshelf:

20150604_095517Think I’ve got enough to read? I’m also itching to re-read Dragonfly in Amber, or Harry Potter.

Thanks for helping me choose!

28 thoughts on “What should I read this summer?

  1. I’ve read Time and Again, Bring Up the Bodies, Caleb’s Crossing, and The Grand Sophy. I think any of them would be a great choice!

      • Oh, right, I remember that! Once I started with Georgette Heyer I had to devour everything, so watch out.

  2. I’ve only read The House of Mirth and it’s a book I can’t recommend highly enough. It’s a book that needs a certain moment though, when you want beautiful writing and you don’t mind a certain amount of sadness and a sometimes maddening heroine.

  3. I’ve read The House of Mirth, Frog Music, Caleb’s Crossing, and The Things They Carried. All of them are very well written, though I didn’t like Frog Music and Caleb’s Crossing as much as I had hoped. I second Fleur’s sentiments regarding The House of Mirth (my beach read last year). It would be interesting to hear your thoughts on How to Be Both.

  4. I LOVED Redeployment and, if you haven’t read Bring Up the Bodies yet, do!!!! It is wonderful. Also, just finished (as in, an hour ago) How To Be Both, and it’s terrific.

      • Redeployment has a lot of acronyms, but it’s basically a really, really honest and accessible account of what goes on in a war zone–I met a Marine last year who saw it on my bookshelf and got really into it, and this guy didn’t read much at all. Bring Up the Bodies is so fluidly written that I don’t think you should be daunted by it; it reads fast. And How To Be Both has got some really funny, sweet bits in it, it’s not all philosophizing (which was what worried me, going in). They’re all less intimidating than they appear!

  5. I always begin my summer with a Jane Austin re-read. It somehow makes the literary world seem sane and ordered amidst all the promotional material that is foisted upon us. After that I can make a selection of whatever is on the go. Good Luck, Bev

  6. No question for me it would be Ali Smith and Hilary Mantel from your TBR. Ali Smith because her book challenges our thinking about perception and about how a novel should be constructed. Hilary Mantel because her study of Cromwell’s psychology is wonderful and highly readable

  7. Hot season is the perfect time to read The Windup Girl, of its enderless, mercyless summer.
    It’s not light or funny for sure, but it’s a scientific, exotic adventure in Thailand. I read it during summer and I think it’s a really good time to give Bacigalupi’s a try.The hotter, the better!

  8. I’m with you in that my summer reading is not much different from reading the rest of the year, but if there’s any time to read The Interestings, summer is it! And it’s a great book to boot. I had a really, really hard time getting into We Are Not Ourselves (I just found it very boring), but I know that others really enjoyed it.

  9. Definitely We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas. I’ve just finished reading it and even though it’s a long novel (definitely not “light” summer reading) it’s gripping once you get into it!

  10. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books on My Summer TBR List | The Book Stop

Leave a Reply

