Best of the Year / Highly Recommended

Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is the top ten books we’ve read so far this year.  There were plenty of books I wanted to put on this list, but here, so far, are my favorites, in the order I read them.

  1. Americanah by Ngozi Adichie Chimamanda
  2. Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed, edited by Meghan Daum
  3. How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
  4. Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood
  5. Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
  6. Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
  7. The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri
  8. The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
  9. Plainsong by Kent Haruf
  10. Redeployment by Phil Klay

Some of my runners-up were: Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer, The Martian by Andy Weir, and The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi. Tough choices!

Did you like or dislike any of the books on this list? What’s in your top ten?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year

  1. The Lowland is on my top ten list too. And I have The Bone Clocks waiting to read on my shelf, but I am so intimidated by its size. Encouraging to know that it’s a great book 🙂

  2. I agree that The Lowland is a great book. I also read We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler. It was so good I struggled to put into words how good it was! Definitely my number one book this year.

  3. I have yet to read any of these, but six are on my to-read list! Hopefully I’ll enjoy them too. I read “The Martian” last year and totally loved it! I’m really looking forward to the movie this fall.

  4. We don’t have any of our top tens in common, but I am reading Stone Mattress right now and it is likely to make an end of the year list (it is Margaret Atwood after all). The Martian is on my list too, as is Deployment. This is the first TTT list I’ve visited today where I actually am familiar with most of the books. 🙂

  5. Great list. Loved Olive #6. I need to read Americanah. I guess so far I’ve liked (maybe best) Rene Denfeld’s The Enchanted which I read in January. Go figure. but it’s dark.

  6. I LOVE ‘How to be a Woman’, Caitlin Moran’s others are good too, but that’s my favourite.

    Have you read ‘Let’s Pretend This Never Happened’ by Jenny Lawson (you may know her as the Bloggess)? She has a similar sense of humour. It’s a very funny book

Leave a Reply

