Blog Hops and Other Memes

Happy July 4th! My June Wrap-Up

Happy July 4th weekend! June’s end marks two things: the beginning of summer school and my trip to Montreal with my sister and family. June has been nice and laid back but I can’t help feeling a little overwhelmed thinking about July.

Which means blogging may have to take a little bit of a back seat. I have a ton of ideas for posts, and plenty of things I need to catch up on, like posting goodreads reviews and responding to review requests. And of course reviewing the books I’m reading. Still, as we discussed last month, not every book read needs to be reviewed. And when things get busy, taking a “sanity break” is probably the best thing for me and the blog.

A few things that made me happy in June:

  • The Supreme Court!  Obamacare saved and a constitutional right to gay marriage.  So exciting!  And the overwhelming reaction on Facebook and Twitter made it even better.  It almost made me like FB again…
  • Mad Max – yes, really. This is a movie I refused to see based on the previews, but it was actually really good, and not half as bloody as I was expecting. Charlize Theron plays a tough woman determined to save the lives of four (?) sex slaves and get them all to a “greener” place. And on a related note, check out this fantastic post by Rinn Reads on why we should think twice about getting excited about “strong” female characters.
  • Related to Mad Max, one of my favorite new websites is The Mary Sue. It’s basically all things geeky but through a gender lens. If they only had a book section on their site, it would be absolutely perfect.
  • Summer – I love the heat, and I even love the crazy storms. Love picnics and outdoor movies and drinking wine on our patio. June was full of fun summer events, like visiting our friends in Ohio, Father’s Day with my dad, and seeing an outdoor showing of Back to the Future, with the National Symphony Orchestra performing all the music AND an appearance by Lea Thompson and Alan Silvestri.

Here’s what I read in June:

  • Plainsong by Kent Haruf
  • The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
  • Redeployment by Phil Klay
  • Black Lung Captain by Chris Wooding

All four were great in different ways, but my favorite read this month was Redeployment. That was a hard book to get into, and Klay doesn’t make it easy on the reader with all the acronyms and military-speak. Still, I liked it better for that, since it felt more authentic. Go out and read this book!

For my fifth anniversary I followed up with the authors of some of the best novels I’ve received since I started this blog. The first post went up last week, I hope you’ll take a minute to read it.  There is more to come!

June wasn’t a great month for posting book reviews, and like I said, July may not be better. Still, it’s summer and that means I can ease up on expectations. I can try anyway.

What am I reading now? I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai. I saw her on The Daily Show and had to get her book.

4 thoughts on “Happy July 4th! My June Wrap-Up

  1. The Supreme Court really stepped up in a good way, which was excellent. We are taking a trip to Montreal in August and biking the path in the Laurentians. I’m looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

