Highly Recommended / Review Requests and ARCs

Following Up with Authors I’ve Reviewed

authorFor the fifth anniversary of The Book Stop, I wanted to follow up with some of the authors who asked me to review their books. The authors I chose wrote books that really stood out — not only for the quality of the writing, but because there was something unique about the story told.

The authors profiled in this post were among my earliest requests from authors, and are some of my favorites.

In February 2012, I reviewed Mary Vensel White’s The Qualities of Wood, a mystery about a woman who moves with her husband to his grandmother’s home in a small Midwestern town. Here’s what she’s been working on since then:

woodSince my book was released in 2012 as an ebook, I’ve had a long wait but the book was published in print in June 2014. I received a wonderful blurb from best-selling author Christina Baker Kline and have been busy promoting the book at wonderful book stores and events like the Southern California Writers Conference, Bouchercon and most recently, the Tucson Festival of Books. I still write about books and writing at my own blog, and I’m a contributing editor at LitChat.com, where I write the occasional article or book review. And I’ve been working away at fiction, with two novels completed. Watch my site: maryvenselwhite.com for upcoming news about these projects, or follow me on Twitter (@mvw888), or become my Facebook friend!

earthquake earthquake2In March 2012, I reviewed Mary Pauline Lowry’s The Earthquake Machine, about a teenage girl who runs away and experiences life-changing adventures in Mexico. Here’s what she’s been working on since then:

Since publishing The Earthquake Machine in 2011, I landed a book deal with Skyhorse Publishing for my novel Wildfire–a novel inspired by my real life experiences as a wildland firefighter on an elite “hotshot” crew. Wildfire tells the story of Julie, who has had an obsession with fire ever since her parents died when she was a little girl. The novel begins as she starts her first season as the only woman on the Pike Hotshot Crew where she tries to make her way in the insular, masculine world of wildland firefighting and gain the acceptance of her crew mates.  I’ve also contributed essays to the New York Times Magazine, the New York Times, HelloGiggles, xoJane, Jezebel and other publications, and I’ve published book reviews and interviews with authors in the Huffington Post. You can read my manifesto about women, art and adventure here. Read more about Wildfire here.

drakeIn January 2013, I reviewed David Wesley Hill’s At Drake’s Command, a fictional account of a young sailor’s voyage with Francis Drake. Here’s what he’s been working on since then:

Since At Drake’s Command was published, I’ve been working on a number of projects, including a sequel to Drake, titled Desperate Bankrupts, which is about 30% completed with 40,000 words written. I think I’ll be releasing it as a serial, chapter by chapter, in the near future. I’ve also published a short story related to the Drake circumnavigation, “The Mermaids of the Darian Coast”. This story, as well as two historical essays, “Searching for the Golden Hinde” and “The Execution of Thomas Doughty by Francis Drake” may be downloaded for free from Smashwords. A “hard” science fiction story of mine, “Saturn Slingshot”, was published in the anthology Far Orbit, as is a fantasy story of mine, “The Appetizers of the Gods”, which was published in the anthology Twisted Boulevard. I’ve also published a collection of my own short SF and fantasy stories, The Curtain Falls and Other Stories. Finally, I’m about halfway done with a horror thriller tentatively titled Lurker. Hopefully I’ll have it finished by the end of the summer.

In December 2012, I reviewed Mary Castillo’s Lost in the Light, a paranormal mystery set in the days of Prohibition, which was Nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Paranormal Mystery. Here’s what she’s been working on since then:

lostI’ve since written a follow up novella to Lost in the Light titled, Girl in the Mist. It is available as an ebook. Right now I’m writing the second novel, Lost in Whispers, which I expect to be published in spring 2016. Girl in the Mist picks up where Lost in the Light left off, with Detective Dori Orihuela heading off to a romantic weekend. A young woman appears in the mist, not knowing her name or how long she’s been dead. When Dori tries to find out what happened to this broken young spirit, everyone she encounters refuse to speak of what happened. For more information, see www.marycastillo.com.

I hope you’ll check out the works of these four talented writers, and also look at the authors I profiled earlier this summer.

One thought on “Following Up with Authors I’ve Reviewed

Leave a Reply

