Blog Hops and Other Memes / First Novels / Highly Recommended

Top Ten Debut Authors

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is our top ten favorite debut authors.  This was an easy one as I’ve read so many great debut novels in the last couple of years (I limited my list to novels, so I didn’t count nonfiction or short stories).  I’m anxiously awaiting new work from all of these great writers.
  1. Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
  2. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker
  3. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
  4. The Panopticon by Jenni Fagan
  5. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
  6. The Girl in the Road by Monica Byrne
  7. Tomorrow There Will Be Apricots by Jessica Soffer
  8. The Martian by Andy Weir
  9. Redeployment by Phil Klay
  10. The Vagabond Vicar by Charlotte Brentwood
Have you read any of these?  Do you have other favorite new writers?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Debut Authors

  1. Ooh, Redeployment was amazing, no? I’d love to read Celeste Ng’s novel–somehow it escaped me–and I’ve heard amazing things about Tell the Wolves I’m Home, too. Burial Rites didn’t impress me as much as I was expecting, given the hype…but it may have been a question of taste (I thought the poeticism was overdone!)

  2. I’ve only read one of your picks — “The Martian,” which I loved — but five of your books are on my to-read list! I’m glad you enjoyed them. 🙂 (I’m off to look up the other four on Goodreads, since we seem to have similar taste!)

  3. Looks like we have some overlap. I’d forgotten Jessica Soffer, unfortunately. And I really need to get around to reading Everything I Never Told You.

Leave a Reply

