About Reading / Blog Hops and Other Memes / Recent Release

Top Ten 2015 Releases I Didn’t Get to Read

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is 2015 releases I wanted to read but didn’t. That’s an easy one for me because there are plenty of them. Here are 12.

 

  1. The Shore by Sara Taylor
  2. The Beautiful Bureaucrat by Helen Phillips
  3. A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
  4. Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

     

  5. Did You Ever Have a Family? by Bill Clegg
  6. Mislaid by Nell Zink
  7. Saint Maizie by Jami Attenberg
  8. City on Fire by Garth Risk Hallberg

     

  9. The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin
  10. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
  11. Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith
  12. The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett

My January reading got off to a slow start this month, but I just finished Kent Haruf’s Our Souls at Night, which was wonderful. Also very good was The Turner House by Angela Flournoy. What 2015 releases are on your TBR list?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten 2015 Releases I Didn’t Get to Read

  1. The Shore is marvelous–very hard-hitting, though. I’d love to read Kent Haruf’s latest; he’s such a gentle, meditative writer. I adored Plainsong when I read it years ago.

      • I love that he focuses on older folks in Our Souls At Night, too, without making them twee or cutesy (a la The Hundred Year Old Man Who etc etc). Rare in litfic. Or any kind of fic, I guess.

  2. I didn’t get to read The Shore or Did You Ever Have a Family either. I wasn’t as impressed by The Beautiful Bureaucrat as others have been, which has reminded me of why I am hesitant to pick up books that get a lot of hype. One 2015 book that I missed and will definitely read one of these days is Erik Larson’s Dead Wake. (I loved Our Souls as Night as well!)

  3. I was SO close to buying CITY ON FIRE at the German book fair this year but it was quite expensive and I didn’t want to have to carry it all day 😀

    But I can definitely recommend CAREER OF EVIL, it’s my favorite Cormoran Strike novel so far because there’s so much Strike & Robin chemistry in it! 😀

  4. I will definitely be interested in seeing your review of City on Fire if you decide to read it. That’s one book I had on my list, but then it seemed like the reviews kept getting less enthusiastic. I’d have Career of Evil on my list, too, but I have to read The Silkworm first. I just read A Cuckoo’s Calling in December and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  5. “Did You Ever Have a Family” is on my list too, but it’s so far down the list from all my recent adds! Maybe I need to move it up a little more…

  6. The Fifth Season and Sorceror to the Crown should have been on my list as well – I obviously missed too many books this past year! The Shore was also on my books I was interested in watching out for early last year so I’d like to read that one at some point as well. All in all, this is a really nice selection of books to be getting on with – eclectic and interesting!

  7. I didn’t get to Career of Evil or A God in Ruins either. I need to get to them this year! Career of Evil especially since I *bought* a copy. Ack! Great list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

