Fantasy / Science Fiction / Uncategorized

2016 science fiction and fantasy releases

Io9 recently released one of my favorite book lists, 40 science fiction and fantasy books to read in 2016. What’s on the list that I’m excited about?

birds

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders (January 26)

I’ve been reading Anders’ posts on io9 for a few years now; she’s the editor of this fantastic website.  So I’m looking forward to reading her book.

Description from io9: Childhood friends Patricia Delfine and Laurence Armstead parted ways during school. She is a magician, and he’s a scientist, and something is bringing them together to either save the world or destroy it.

burning

Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh (February 2)

I loved McIntosh’s Love Minus Eighty, so anything by this author is something I look forward to.  And this one sounds good!

Description from io9: Sully sells spheres in his store: nobody knows where they came from—they just appeared—but they make you just a little bit better at random things. When Sully meets Hunter, a girl who excels at finding Spheres, they discover a new one that’s colored Gold, and the fate of the world rests in their hands.

cold

The Cold Between by Elizabeth Bonesteel (March 8)

I’m liking books that combine detectives and science fiction/fantasy.  I know nothing about this book but it caught my eye.

Description from io9: Central Corps chief engineer, Commander Elena Shaw’s crewmate, Danny, is murdered on a far-off colony, and is shocked when her boyfriend is implicated. This sets off an investigation that shows that the death has deeper implications.

league

League of Dragons by Naomi Novik (May 10)

I’ve read all the books in Novik’s Temeraire series.  Alternative history and dragons, what’s not to like?

Description from io9: Captain William Laurence and Temeraire pursure the French emperor’s forces back home, but when he promises to provide dragons all over the world, he gains new allies, along with internal tensions that might tear everyone apart.

ghost

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal (July 5)

I read the first book in Kowal’s Glamour series.  I liked the way it was written but wasn’t necessarily interested enough in that world to keep reading the series.  But I love the idea of a book that involves World War I intelligence. And the cover is really cool.

Description from io9: Here [World War I], mediums use the deceased for intelligence gathering and communications, and when the Spirit Corps is targeted, Ginger has to make some tough choices.

Are there any books on this list you’re looking forward to?  I still need to read Jemisin’s The Fifth Season before I can read the sequel, and I also want to start reading The Expanse series.  I wasn’t a big fan of The Passage so I haven’t been following that series.  What 2016 releases are you excited about?

7 thoughts on “2016 science fiction and fantasy releases

  1. League of Dragons, yes! I’m psyched for that series finale. I was sent a copy of All the Birds in the Sky and I’m glad to know you recommend the author, whom I hadn’t heard of. I read some of Kowal’s Regency books but I wasn’t that enamored of how she treated the historical setting, so it will be interesting to see her do something else.

  2. That IS a fun list! I liked the ones you picked out quite a bit. Glad to see there is a new one by Will McIntosh coming out and it sounds really cool I am also psyched for Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen by Lois McMaster Bujold and two others I didn’t see on the list – Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley and City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett! The 2016 releases on my TBR are already getting out of control….

  3. I’m excited for Ghost Talkers and All the Birds in the Sky! And I’m super behind on Temeraire, but I will look forward to the final book once I’m caught up.

    And I’m only partway through The Fifth Season but I’m massively excited for The Obelisk Gate because it’s so amazing.

Leave a Reply

