Blog Hops and Other Memes / Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Facts About Me

toptentuesdayToday’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is ten facts about me. I so rarely get to write about myself on this blog.  So, here are a few semi-interesting, semi-chronological things about me.

  1. I’m part Polish, Romanian, and Czech. My father was born in Czechoslovakia but had to leave as a young child during the Holocaust.  He grew up in Israel.
  2. I’m one of four sisters, no brothers. My sisters all have daughters, no sons.
  3. Growing up, I loved dinosaurs, fantasy novels and Dr. Who.  I felt like a misfit because I didn’t like the things girls were supposed to like.
  4. When I was 14 I was hit by a car walking home from my high school. I was out of school for nearly two months.  I don’t remember being hit but I still get nervous crossing streets.
  5. The best job I ever had was working for a used bookstore in Tucson, Arizona called The Book Stop. Not only did I learn a lot about books, I could take anything home and read it for free (helpful for a poor lit major!)
  6. Twenty years ago I got a law degree but I never practiced. The movie Legally Blonde is written about my law class.blonde
  7. I was 26 the first time I traveled to another country.  I backpacked around Scotland for two weeks by myself.  It was an amazing experience.
  8. I have a tattoo on my back shoulder that’s a Charles Rennie Mackintosh rose. My sister and I got tattooed together.
  9. I rarely get hints or sarcasm, and I take things really literally.  I also can’t really whisper.
  10. I never wanted children, and I’m happily childfree.
  11. I got married the year I turned 30, which I think is the perfect age to get married.
  12. When I’m stressed, other than a good walk, the children’s section of the library is my favorite place to go.
  13. I collect antique books by L. Frank Baum, mostly the Oz series. I grew up on those books and I love them.img_2505

So that’s me!  Hope you don’t mind my blathering on about myself.  I don’t do it very often.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Facts About Me

  1. Your antique L. Frank Baum books are beautiful. The Wizard of Oz was an important book from childhood so I understand the love.
    Not only am I impressed that you have a law degree, I’m also surprised that Legally Blonde was based off of something. lol

    • Glad to hear from an Oz fan! If you haven’t read the other Oz books, I hope you’ll check them out. It’s such a wonderful fantasy world. The language can be a bit dated but they are 100 years old.

  2. Backpacking alone in Scotland sounds AMAZING. I’m not a huge backpacker but I do love traveling – what was the most memorable from that trip, would you say? 🙂

    And that collection of antique books looks beautiful. Have you read all of them? ❤

    • I think the coolest part of my Scotland adventure was meeting so many people in the hostels. Also I loved Skye!

      I have read all the books, I read most of the Oz books as a child and discovered his other books once I started collecting.

      • Meeting people in hostels would be awesome! I’ve never actually stayed in one since I traveled with my family and they prefer hotels, but I imagine if I travelled alone that’d be one of those things I’d do. 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s all Eastern Europe but the family history is pretty interesting! I’ve gotten into genealogy and traveled to Eastern Europe so it definitely influences who I am.

  3. So many interesting facts! I am super impressed by your solo back packing trip around Scotland. I would like to do more solo travel but am too big of a chicken!

  4. Pingback: My July Reading Wrap-Up | The Book Stop

Leave a Reply

