About Blogging / Uncategorized

Do you listen to podcasts?

My husband loves podcasts, and often recommends them.  My usual response is that I’d much rather read than listen, and that’s true.  I’m much more visual than auditory, and while my husband  spends an hour and a half driving to work each day, I spend 2 hours sitting on trains and buses.

Still, there are plenty of times when we’re taking long drives together, or I’m cooking dinner or doing organizational stuff on the computer.  Then I usually listen to music or my favorite radio station (yes, I still have a favorite radio station).  But now I’m exploring the world of podcasts, and I’ve discovered three I really like.

About blogging: Recently a fellow blogger recommended ProBlogger.com, an Australian site with tons of resources on blogging.  A lot of helpful suggestions are provided via podcast.  Many of the articles and podcasts on this site are a bit too technical for me at the moment, but I’ve found useful podcasts relating to creating and editing content.  ProBlogger has a lot of podcasts relating to making money from your blog, which I haven’t explored yet but would like to.

About reading: Sword and Laser is all about fantasy and science fiction; its two hosts are awesome and they have great interviews.  I recently heard one with M.R. Carey, who wrote The Girl with All the Gifts and who talked about his experience working on the film of that book.

About entertainment: The husband turned me on to Nerdist.com, where Chris Hardwick holds hour long interviews with comedians and entertainers.  I listened to an interview with Kumail Nanjiani and Emily Gordon, who wrote The Big Sick, and we listened to an interview with Jim Jefferies, one of my new favorite talk show hosts.  These interviews are great because Hardwick really talks to his guests as a friend, and they get into tons of details most interviews wouldn’t.  Definitely good stuff for long car rides.

That’s all I know about podcasts.  Do you listen to any, and if so what do you like?  Anything particularly bookish?  I’d love to hear more interviews with authors, for example.

Happy Friday, all.

 

20 thoughts on “Do you listen to podcasts?

  1. I listen to a variety of podcasts.

    A couple of favorites:

    Mission Log: Examines each episode of Star Trek for morals, messages and meanings.

    The Kevin Smith podcasts: Hollywood Babel-On, Smodcast, Tell ‘Em Steve Dave.

    Doctor Who: The Writers Room: Looks at classic Doctor Who by various writers.

  2. I listen to a lot of the ProBlogger episodes. I skip the ones about monetising your site because I’m not interested but there is plenty of other good content on creating different kinds of content. After a while you’ll find a lot of repetition though.

  3. I have to admit I’ve never tried listening to podcasts before… Like you I prefer the visual experience over auditory (I tried two audiobooks, but just couldn’t get used to it).

    • I’m not an audiobook listener either; I just love the experience of reading too much. Although it sounds like there are some books that are really enhanced when read by the right reader (or the author).

      • I think that the right reader is definitely the key to being able to enjoy an audibook… The two I tried weren’t bad, but didn’t make me prefer the experience over picking up the story myself.

  4. I went through a podcast phase but I’ve not been listening to them lately. i do sometimes listen while exercising (walking or biking) as it’s about the only way I can motivate myself to tear myself away from a book.

    One that I enjoy for that purpose is The Splendid Table (a foodie podcast – so I can go directly from exercising to eating yummy food, ha ha!).

    • Listening while walking makes a lot of sense! I’ve heard The Splendid Table in the car a few times. It’s a level of cooking that goes way above what I can do, but entertaining to listen to.

    • Audrey, thanks for the suggestion and congrats on your upcoming interview. I like This American Life as well, although you never quite know what you’re going to get.

  5. I slowly got into podcasts, while cleaning and cooking and now I listen to them whenever I’m working from home. They’re good when I want something on but can’t read. Oh Witch Please is a great podcast about Harry Potter.

  6. I have three that I really like. First, there’s the West Wing Weekly, with Joshua Malina (he played Will Bailey on the show) and Hrishi Hirway–an episode by episode look at the best TV program ever! Then, there’s the British History Podcast, which starts with pre-Roman Britain and covers everything! And finally, there’s In Our Time, with Melvyn Bragg, who also covers everything with panels of experts–I like the literature and history episodes the best.

    Nerdist sounds like something I would like, and I probably should listen to ProBlogger, but I probably won’t!

    I download WWW and my husband and I listen together in the car when we have time. I wouldn’t listen without him as we are rewatching the series end-to-end, so that’s fun.

  7. I’m finally starting to make podcasting plans after wanting to for so long. They Might Be Giants room one of my favorites.
    Thanks for the read! (Great resources included.)

Leave a Reply

