Blog Hops and Other Memes

Enter to Win in the Fifth Literary Blog Hop

Once again I’m participating in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop hosted by Leeswammes’ Blog.  This means you can enter to win literary books of all types from the bloggers listed at the event site.

Since I mostly read e-books, I don’t have a pile of gently used favorites to give away.  But I like to highlight some of my favorite reads since the last Hop and give you the option of entering to win the book that interests you most.

So for this Hop, you can enter to win one of the following:

The Count of Monte Cristo (paperback since the e-book is already free): this book has been on my TBR list for decades — or at least Alexandre Dumas has, since I’ve never quite been able to decide between Monte Cristo and Three MusketeersMonte Cristo sounded darker and more dramatic, and it didn’t disappoint.  This book has it all – adventure, love, treasure, and revenge.  But what sounds simple isn’t at all.  This book is a time commitment and requires some patience as you let the story unravel.  But it’s all in there.

The Sisters Brothers (paperback or Kindle): It’s a little hard to explain why this book is literary but it showed up on a ton of best-of lists last year.  It’s the story of two brothers heading out to Gold Rush-era Oregon and California.  They’re assassins on a job to find and kill a man; only Eli Sisters is having second thoughts about a quieter life.  I found the style of writing a little hard to get used to, but once I did the book really took off.  Eli is a character you won’t forget any time soon.

The Earthquake Machine (Kindle only): This is author Mary Pauline Lowry’s first book and it’s amazing.  Forget that it’s marketed as young adult fiction; this is a really adult read.  Yes, it’s about the life of a troubled fourteen year old.  But Lowry doesn’t hold back in this really honest and thoughtful portrayal of what it means to be fourteen and have your whole world fall apart.  Rhonda goes on the kind of adventure I fantasized about as a teen, only I never had the nerve to do a tenth of the things she does.   Be warned, this is an untraditional, no-holds-barred read that will make you uncomfortable at times but will also take you deep into the teenage mind. 

Now, here are the rules to enter:

1)      Tell me which book you’re interested in (be sure to note the available format).  I’ll pick a winner for each of the three books.  Please don’t enter for all three unless you’re really interested in reading all three.

2)      Tell me about one of your favorite books this year.  What book do you recommend and why?  (Your entry will not be considered if you don’t provide a recommendation.)

3)      International entries welcome.  I always seem to send my books to far off places.

4)      There’s no requirement to follow my blog but I hope you’ll consider signing up as an email or Twitter follower.

5)      Entries accepted until midnight June 27.

Enjoy the Hop and please visit the other participating blogs.  Good luck!

47 thoughts on “Enter to Win in the Fifth Literary Blog Hop

  1. I would highly recommend the series A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE by George RR Martin. I have just finished the first book GAMES OF THRONES. It was brilliant.

    I’d love a copy of “The Count of Monte Cristo” thank you.

  2. I loved the book Shantaram – made me look at life differently. I’d like the Earthquake Machine. This genre is not something I have read very much. Its time to step out of the comfort zone.! Thanks.

  3. I’d recommend you Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. I fell in love with the book when I read it in March and since then I’ve read 5 more books by Daphne! She is a terrific writer!

    I’d love to read The Count of Monte Cristo. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway! 🙂

  4. I’d love to win a copy of The Sisters Brothers (paperback)…I keep hearing positive reactions to it and I’d love to read it for myself. So far this year, there are three books I’ve read that really stand out and I would definitely recommend them; The True Deceiver by Tove Jansson (not a new one but subtly excellent), Gillespie and I by Jane Harris (loved the idea of a struggling artist from days gone by combined with a feisty protagonist), and Borges and the Eternal Orangutans by Luis Fernando Verissimo (clever and witty). Thanks for offering a wonderful giveaway~
    beth.diiorio@yahoo.com
    Beth 🙂

  5. Thanks for the chance to win! I would love to read The Sisters Brothers (paperback.) All the books that you’re offering are actually on my TBR list! But I am especially eager to check out The Sisters Brothers and see what all the hype is about 🙂 My favorite book that I read this year, actually came out last year. It’s Stephen King’s 11/22/63 and I’d recommend it highly. It was my first time reading King and I positively sped through the 800+ pages in 3 days. I couldn’t put it down!

  6. I’d love a paperback copy of The Sisters Brothers. I’ve read only raves. My favorite book so far this year has been Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. It’s so deliciously dark and twisty.

  7. I would like to win The Count of Monte Cristo.

    I would recommend Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo because it’s such a beautiful story of a girl and boy orphaned trying to find a place in their world.

  8. I’d like to enter for The Sisters Brothers – paperback. One of my favorite reads of the year so far is 11/22/63. It was the first Stephen King book that I’ve read because I knew it wasn’t horror; I just don’t read horror.

  9. having read the 1st two please place me down for the earthquake machine, thanks

    MARZIPAN BLUES – Tiffany Atkinson

    Later he tries to explain
    the turquoise joy, at ten,
    of that first Rangers strip;
    his birthday-fingers skidding
    on the wrapping’s brittle ice.

    It’s occult, such a shock
    of cloth – the sweet, sheer blue
    enough to make his teeth ache.
    Hard to bear the perfect interval
    of white trim at the neck: the brisk

    heroic V whose yearning geometry
    fits just so. It’s a humbling ratio,
    along the lines of football: stadium;
    wee boy: the goals of men. But he’s
    already elsewhere. And of course

    he thinks I wouldn’t understand:
    I’m pointing like a school-marm
    everywhere but at myself. Look –
    was the blue like this? I say. Or
    this? Well, was it? Anything like this?

  10. I would like to recommend Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. Although my englisch is far from perfect (as dutch is my native language), I would like to win The Sisters Brothers.

  11. I’d love to win a copy of The Sisters Brothers (Paperback). I’ve read quite a few good novels this year and my favourite so far is The Story of Ivy by Marie Belloc Lowndes. It’s the story of a woman, too much in love with money and comforts. Soon enough, there has to be a murder. The book was published in the 1920s and is simply unputdownable.

    Thanks for the giveaway.

  12. I loved Gillespie and I by Jane Harris – it’s historical fiction but focuses on relationships and how reliable memory really is. I also enjoyed Jessica Rudd’s Ruby Blues, but would suggest starting with Campaign Ruby – funniest book involving politics that I have ever read!
    I’d love to win The Sisters Brothers (paperback).
    Thanks for a great giveaway 🙂
    My email is samstillreading[at]gmail[dot]com

  13. I’m interested in The Sisters Brother (paperback). It appeared to be somewhat elusive to me and that made me excited.
    I guess I’d recommend “To Kill A Mockingbird” because it digs deeper on humanity during the early years and it even leaves us messages that is applicable for this modern society. That’s also one of my favorite reads this year.

  14. I’d LOVE to win The Count of Monte Cristo. Always wanted to read it especially after learning that my fave new series this year, Revenge, was inspired by this book.

    A fave book this year is Strangers in Death by JD Robb, it’s my first JD/Nora Roberts book but is so my style. Loved the storyline and the characters and the crime!

    Thanks for making this INT!

  15. I would love to win The Sisters Brothers. Thanks for offering the giveaway.

    My favorite book this year and one I would recommend is Code Name Verity. It’s a new one and it has two fantastic young girls as the main characters. It was a really affecting book and one that I will never forget.

  16. I’d love to read The Sisters Brothers (paperback please). I’ve read lots of fabulous books this year – favourites are Heart-Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne, Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt and Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel (not new, obviously).

    Have a happy hop!

  17. One of my favourite reads so far this year has been the Brooklyn Bites series by Scott Stabile (I am in fact giving them away on my blog), they’re beautifully written, especially the descriptions of food, and have some lovely relationships too.

    I would like a paperback of The Brothers Sisters please. Thanks for the giveaway

  18. I would recommend the books of Mo Hayder, because they are so thrilling, you have to read them out once you started, f.e. Birdman an The treatment
    I would love to win The Sisters Brothers, because I read so much good things about this book!

  19. +JMJ+

    I’m entering for The Count of Monte Cristo. =)

    I can be quite the plebe when it comes to reading choices, but June happens to be the best time to ask me for literary recommendations: I devote a hefty chunk of “Independence Month” to reading the books of the National Artists of the Philippines. And so far, the best dang read of the month–and what I’m already sure will be the best dang read of the whole year–is Ermita: A Filipino Novel by F. Sionil Jose. It’s about a beautiful but poor girl who becomes one of the most sought-after prostitutes in Manila. And this might sound strange now, after that description, but I found myself comparing her to Scarlett O’Hara . . . and Ermita itself to Gone with the Wind. Jose is the most translated Filipino writer, so if you’re interested in this novel, you’ll probably be able to find a copy without much fuss. =) But you might also want to enter my June Giveaway! Ermita is one of the books I’ve tossed into a prize pool. 😉

  20. Since I just got back from Oregon and seem to be reading all about Oregon these days, I would love The Sisters Brothers.

    I’ve read lots of great books this year, but one of my favorites is a new collection of essays by Marilynne Robinson.

    debnance at gmail dot com

    Here’s my
    Literary Blog Hop Giveaway.
    I hope you will stop by!

  21. I’d like to enter for The Sisters Brothers! It sounds intriguing. My favorite book right now is Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan. It made me cry just because it’s a story about family and dreams and appreciating what you have. READ IT. Haha, love the blog you’ve got here.

    Sara_Johnson@baylor.edu

  22. I would love The Count of Monte Cristo!

    I think one of the best books I read this year was Jane Eyre. I read it during a rough patch in my life and for some reason I couldn’t imagine having gone through it without Bronte!

    Thank you for the giveaway!

    kimie142002(at)hotmail(dot)com

  23. Please enter me The Count of Monte Cristo, it’s been awhile since I’ve read a classic.

    I would recommend Brian Christian’s The Most Human Human, it’s a non-fiction book about the future of AI communication and the Turring test (which people are paried up with either an AI or a real person…and they try to determine whether the other party is a real person or not). Utterly fascinating, and compelling!

    Many thanks for the giveaway, I have my fingers crossed!
    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox
    lilianxchengATgmail.com

  24. I’d pick a paper copy of The Count of Montecristo.
    I recommend A Beginner’s Guide to Acting English by Shappi Khorsandi, it’s great.

    spamscape [at] gmail [dot] com

  25. I would like to read The Sisters Brothers ( kindle). I would recommend Silent Joe by T. Jefferson Parker.
    ainfingerAT comcastDOTnet

  26. I would love to read The Count of Monte Cristo and I would recommend Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. Thanks for the giveaway!

    dl(dot)love(dot)freedom(at)gmail(dot)com

  27. I’d love to be entered for a paperback of The Sisters Brothers. Thank you for the opportunity!

    One of my favourite books of this year is The Book of Everything by Guus Kuijer. It is a children’s book, but deals with a complicated issue in such a gentle manner. I can’t really tell you much except that I finished it with tears in my eyes because it just was that perfect.

  28. I loved Sacre Bleu: A Comedy D’Art, the new Christopher Moore book. It’s his style a voice but slightly more serious than his other books. Plus it’s about Art! And France! And Toulouse-Lautrec is a main character! So much fun

    I’d love to win a Kindle copy of The Sisters Brothers. I keep hearing all the amazing-ness about it.

  29. I’d absolutely LOVE to win The Sisters Brothers. Yes, it may not seem like a book about two assassin brothers might be considered “literary”, but I’ve heard this book described as ‘masterful’ and ‘brilliant’, which I believe is high praise, and makes it a book worthy of a read. Plus, it sounds like a riveting read.

    My favorite book that I’ve read so far has been “A Good American” by Alex George, which is a book about an immigrant family, finding their identity in a new world, and creating roots in the soil. Each generation of the family evolving and assimilating to being an “American” with the help of music, and their love for one another. With lyrical prose, and endearing characters – this book is sure to please.

    Thank you for your generosity, and for being part of the Literary Giveaway Hop.

  30. I would like Sisters Brothers in paperback since I don’t own a Kindle.

    My favorite book so far this year is a series written in French where the action takes place in Québec city. I lived there for a few years so I think it is fun to be able to related to some things. The first one is Nébulosité croissante en fin de journée, followed by Le rouge idéal. I have the next two from the library. They are written by Jacques Côté.

    Thanks for the giveaway. I hope to be as lucky as last year!

  31. I’d like The Count of Monte Cristo.
    One of the best books I’ve read this year is The Storyteller by Antonia Michaelis. It’s beautifully written and contains a story within the main story. It shocked me, especially the ending, but you’ll have to read it to find out why 🙂

  32. I enjoyed reading The Immortal Rules, a YA novel. It was a quick and action-packed read. Thanks!!

    I’d like The Count of Monte Cristo.

    Thanks!

    katieamanda1(at)yahoo(dot)com

  33. I would love to win either The Earthquake Machine or a copy of The Count of Monte Cristo!
    Thank you so much!!
    Lisa Hackney yankssssrule08 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  34. I’d like The Count of Monte Cristo. The last book I read was Life Expectancy by Dean Koontz. A criminal story with classical good vs. evil twists, also a little dystopian. Incredibly well written, I was completely absorbed, I laughed and I cried. Thank you! 🙂

  35. My favorite book this year is Monsters Of Men, the last book in the Chaos Walking series by Patrick Ness. All three books were fantastic but this last one was particularly memorable. I’d love The Sisters Brothers in paperback, thanks for a great giveaway.

    bookishoutsider at gmail dot com

  36. I’ve probably recommended “Fingersmith” by Sarah Waters or “The History of Love” by Nicole Krauss to just about everyone I know, but I’ll still do it again here since I loved both of them. Also, I’m a big fan of García Márquez. His “A Hundred Years of Solitude” has been my favourite since I was 14.

    I’d like to enter for the papaerback edition of “The Sisters Brothers”.

    Thanks!

  37. I have already read the Count of Monte Cristo, so the only book that sounds good would be The Sisters Brothers. It sounds like it has some history. My favorite read this years is the Hunger Games series.

  38. Thanks for this opportunity! I would choose The Count of Monte Cristo. The best book I read recently was Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald. It was one of those books that I really GOT, you know? I feel like I understood all the symbolism, but the best part is that I probably only understood about 1/10 and if I read it again I will take something completely new away.

    maevalentine39 [at] gmail [dot] com

  39. So far the best book I’ve read this year is Divergent. As for a book recommendation, if you haven’t read White Oleander yet, it’s one of my favorites. I would love to win The Sister Brothers (either format is fine) or The Earthquake Machine.
    the imagine tree at aol dot com

Leave a Reply

