Nonfiction November: Books I Added to my TBR

Nonfiction November always closes with a look at what we’ve added to our TBR lists this month. I always get a lot of great recommendations from these discussions. This week is hosted by Jaymi @ The OC Bookgirl.

It’s been a month full of amazing nonfiction books! Which ones have made it onto your TBR? Be sure to link back to the original blogger who posted about that book! Pro tip: Start this draft post at the beginning of the month and add to it as your TBR multiplies.

The books I added to my reading list this month relate to topics I’m always interested in reading about: health, psychology, nature, other countries and cultures, and people who make brave and difficult choices:

Loved and Wanted by Christa Parravani is about a 40 year old woman who becomes pregnant with her third child and is forced to deal with the restrictions on reproductive choice in the U.S. It was written in 2020 but I expect is even more relevant today. It was recommended by Melissa Firman.

The All of It: A Bogan Rhapsody by Cadence Bell is a memoir by a transgendered woman in Australia. It was recommended by Book’d Out.

It Didn’t Start With You by Mark Wolynn is about how trauma is passed down to us from our families, and has techniques to address those fears and anxieties. It was recommended by Lory at Enter the Enchanted Castle.

I was Told to Come Alone by Souad Mekhennet is about a Washington Post reporter who goes on a terrifying journey “behind the lines of jihad” in Germany and the Turkish/Syrian border. It was recommended by Katie at Doing Dewey.

I Contain Multitudes by Ed Yong is about the role of microbes in animals and plants and how they impact our health. It was recommended by Deb at ReaderBuzz.

Fruitless Fall by Rowan Jacobsen is about the decline of the honeybee population and its impacts on the environment. It was recommended by Hopewell’s Public Library of Life. Written in 2008, I’m curious whether it still feels relevant today; it’s ratings on Goodreads are very high so I’ll give it a try.

Thanks to these bloggers for their recommendations and to our hosts of Nonfiction November! I didn’t post for every week of the event, but I appreciated the discussion. I always find a lot of great suggestions through this event. I hope you did too.

  5 comments for “Nonfiction November: Books I Added to my TBR

  1. November 28, 2022 at 9:14 am

    We both added: It Didn’t Start With You!

  2. November 29, 2022 at 9:02 am

    I hope you enjoy all these! I Contain Multitudes made it to my TBR list too.

  3. November 30, 2022 at 5:27 am

    Nice ones – I hope you get hold of and enjoy these!

  4. December 22, 2022 at 9:47 am

    Oh yay! Glad to see I Was Told to Come Alone on your list. I didn’t add any of the other books to my to-read list yet, but may have to now!

Leave a comment

Living Through Fiction

Sharing the love found through Stories

Reading Freely

Seeking the True, the Good, and the Beautiful

Sorry, I'm Booked

Because my time is usually taken up by books, baking, & babbling, among other things. Come join.

Leah's Books

Book Blog

The Contented Reader

Literary & Lifestyle Blog

Paiges of Novels

A blog about books and writing

Kyla's Library

Book Reviews and Book Recommendations.

Sifa Elizabeth Reads

A world of books awaits

Rosie Amber

Book reviewer and garden enthusiast. Updates from my Hampshire garden. Usually talking about books and plants. People do not forget books or flowers that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.