My May Reading Wrap-Up

May was a fantastic reading month. I read four books from the Women’s Prize longlist. I also read two backlist books from new favorites, Mimi Matthews and Kate Clayborn.  

Here’s what I read in May:

  • Stone Blind by Natalie Haynes (audio)
  • In the Lives of Puppets by T. J. Klune
  • The Arsonists’ City by Hala Alyan
  • The Work of Art by Mimi Matthews
  • Fire Rush by Jacqueline Crooks (audio)
  • Beginner’s Luck by Kate Clayborn (audio)
  • Unpacking for Greece by Sally Jane Smith
  • The Bandit Queens by Parini Shroff (audio)
  • Trespasses by Louise Kennedy (audio)

My favorite reads:

My favorite was The Bandit Queens by Parini Shroff, a book I only picked up because it was nominated for the Women’s Prize. It’s hilarious, moving, and recounts the history (and mythology) of a fascinating woman in India.

I also really loved The Arsonist’s City, a book I finally read on the recommendation of Modern Mrs. Darcy that was on my TBR Pile Challenge List this year. It’s a story about a couple from Syria and Lebanon, the family they have together, and the friend they both lost. This decades-long family saga centers around their family home in Beirut, even though no one in the family lives there.

I struggled with Trespasses at first, but by the end I couldn’t put it down, and it really resonated with me. For a while I found it depressing, but it really told me a lot about the Troubles and I loved the characters.

In the next few days I’ll be reviewing Sally Jane Smith’s Unpacking for Greece, which was published June 1.It’s a great travel story as well as a memoir about Smith’s efforts to get past her fear of travel after a terrible accident.

Disappointing reads:

Surprisingly, I didn’t love TJ Klune’s newest book, In the Lives of Puppets, but that’s mainly because I loved his last two so much. This one was clever but lacked the heart of the other two.

On the blog:

I reviewed In the Lives of Puppets and wrote about the books I recommend most often, and my 20 Books of Summer. I also wrote about the books I read on this year’s Women’s Prize longlist.

Books for challenges:

  • TBR Pile/Backlist Reader: The Arsonist’s City, Beginner’s Luck, The Work of Art
  • Nonfiction: Unpacking for Greece
  • Reading Around the World: The Arsonist’s City (Lebanon), Unpacking for Greece (Greece), The Bandit Queens (India), Fire Rush (Jamaica), Trespasses (Northern Ireland)

What I’m reading now:

I’m reading two ARCs. One is Aloha Vietnam by Elizabeth Nguyen, about a Vietnamese-American teen in Hawaii who is diagnosed with bipolar disorder. This one is already published. The other is And Then He Sang a Lullaby, about a gay college student in Nigeria, it will be published June 6.

What’s coming up:

I’ll be reading the books on my 20 Books of Summer TBR list.

Added to my TBR:

The Modern Mrs. Darcy Summer Reading Guide came out, which gave me a lot more books for my TBR list. I also picked up ARCs from a few authors I really like, Angie Kim and Paulette Jiles. 

Things that made me happy this month:

I’m happily playing the new Zelda game, which will take me a good long time as I’m a very slow player and can only play a little at a time. 

I’m enjoying the great weather – I love summer! My summer garden is planted and I traded my old bike in for one that fits me better. And we’ve got trips to Wisconsin, California, and Europe later this summer. 

That’s my May wrap-up. Hope you’re enjoying summer and reading something good.

  5 comments for “My May Reading Wrap-Up

  1. June 2, 2023 at 8:06 am

    I enjoyed Hala Alyan’s Salt Houses, didn’t know she had another book out. I’ll definitely put that one on the list. I am also curious to try Mimi Matthews, looks like she could provide some welcome light reading. I’m glad you had such a good reading month!

  2. June 2, 2023 at 9:25 am

    A marvellous month! wishing you joy in June!

  3. June 2, 2023 at 3:53 pm

    Great wrap up! I hope June is just as good!

  4. June 2, 2023 at 5:25 pm

    Interesting look at various books!

  5. June 5, 2023 at 2:52 am

    I’m so glad you enjoyed Unpacking for Greece (I scrolled straight to “Disappointing reads” first, just in case!)

Leave a comment

Living Through Fiction

Sharing the love found through Stories

Reading Freely

Seeking the True, the Good, and the Beautiful

Sorry, I'm Booked

Because my time is usually taken up by books, baking, & babbling, among other things. Come join.

Leah's Books

Book Blog

The Contented Reader

Literary & Lifestyle Blog

Paiges of Novels

A blog about books and writing

Kyla's Library

Book Reviews and Book Recommendations.

Sifa Elizabeth Reads

A world of books awaits

Rosie Amber

Book reviewer and garden enthusiast. Updates from my Hampshire garden. Usually talking about books and plants. People do not forget books or flowers that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.