Top Ten New-to-me Authors in 2023

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, is the top new authors I read in 2023. I counted 45 authors that were new to me in 2023. Here were my favorites:

  1. Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt (debut novel)
  2. The Bandit Queens by Parini Shroff (debut novel)
  3. The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep by H.G. Parry
  4. Foster by Claire Keegan
  5. Trespasses by Louise Kennedy (debut novel)
  6. Talking at Night by Claire Daverly (debut novel)
  7. The House is on Fire by Rachel Beanland
  8. The Book Eaters by Suryi Dean (debut novel)
  9. Ink Blood Sister Scribe by Emma Torsz (debut novel)
  10. The Wolf Den by Elodie Harper

Other notable authors I read this yearwere Ani Kayode Somtochukwu (And Then He Sang a Lullaby), Hala Alyan (The Arsonists’ City), Elif Shafak (The Island of Missing Trees), Claire Jimenez (What Happened to Ruthy Ramirez), Natalie Haynes (Stone Blind), Jacqueline Crooks (Fire Rush), and Adrian Tchaikovsky (Children of Time).

I didn’t include nonfiction on this list, because it felt too hard to compare fiction and nonfiction, but some favorite new authors I discovered this year were Edith Eger, Nadia Murad, Sally Jane Smith, and Elisabeth Tova Bailey.

Which authors did you discover in 2023?

  29 comments for “Top Ten New-to-me Authors in 2023

  1. January 30, 2024 at 7:45 am

    A great mix of books.

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:22 pm

      Thanks for visiting Rosie! I hope one of these will spark your interest.

  2. Gerilynn Rohrer
    January 30, 2024 at 8:03 am

    I need new authors!

    <

    div>

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    • January 30, 2024 at 9:55 am

      Remarkably Bright Creatures was so good, I think you’d like it. It was a great audiobook!

  3. lydiaschoch
    January 30, 2024 at 9:37 am

    Wasn’t Foster an amazing read? I’d love to see a film based on it.

    Here is my <a href=”https://lydiaschoch.com/top-ten-tuesday-new-to-me-authors-i-discovered-in-2023/“>Top Ten Tuesday</a> post. 

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:17 pm

      Foster was amazing. The writing was so beautiful I listened to it twice. She’s very good at building atmosphere and tension, even in a very short read.

  4. January 30, 2024 at 2:06 pm

    Sound of the Wild Snail was my favorite book the year I read it!!

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:19 pm

      Yes, it was really good. This was such a unique book, I like books that make science feel really personal and accessible.

  5. Sarah @ Exploring All Genres
    January 30, 2024 at 2:41 pm

    I haven’t heard of these authors before. Some of these covers sure look intriguing.

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:21 pm

      I find so many book covers look the same, but these are some good ones. The Book Eaters, Uriah Heep, and Remarkably Bright Creatures all have great covers. I hope you try one of these books!

  6. masterspj
    January 30, 2024 at 3:21 pm

    I hope you continue to enjoy reading these authors in 2024!

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!

    Authors I First Read in 2023 – Read! Bake! Create! (readbakecreate.com)

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:14 pm

      Thanks Pam! I’m looking forward to reading more by these authors. Sadly, a lot of them only have one book right now. I know The Wolf Den has a sequel and I’m looking forward to that one.

  7. January 30, 2024 at 4:25 pm

    I loved that Van Pelt book! She made my list today as well.

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:16 pm

      I don’t know anyone who hasn’t loved that book, which is so rare. I often don’t like books that everyone loves. I hope she has another book coming soon!

  8. TheNonbinaryLibrarian
    January 30, 2024 at 6:57 pm

    The cover of The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep makes me want to read it; it looks really interesting. I also read The Book Eaters and found it so fascinating!!

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:12 pm

      If you like books about books, Uriah Heep was fantastic! So many classic book characters are part of the story, and I learned so much about Charles Dickens. 

  9. January 31, 2024 at 7:23 am

    I discovered Keegan in 2022 and now she’s one of my favorites. I love discovering new authors!

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:11 pm

      Keegan is an amazing writer, she packs so much into small works. I listened to Foster twice just to absorb it properly. I’m looking forward to reading more by her.

  10. January 31, 2024 at 10:23 am

    So many great ones! I really enjoyed Remarkably Bright Creatures too, and just read my first Claire Keegan book in December (and it won’t be my last). I’m excited to check out the Rachel Beanland book — I read her previous novel (Florence Adler Swims Forever) and thought it was terrific.

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:10 pm

      I’m glad to hear you liked Florence Adler! I have a copy and I’m looking forward to reading it. 

  11. January 31, 2024 at 2:54 pm

    Hooray for enjoying so many new authors! I’ve heard wonderful things about Remarkably Bright Creatures.

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:09 pm

      Thanks for visiting! Remarkably Bright Creatures was one of my favorite books last year. I recommend it to nearly everyone.

  12. January 31, 2024 at 3:29 pm

    I haven’t read any of these books/authors, but I will be reading REMARKABLY BRIGHT CREATURES in a couple of months for book club. I’m excited!

    Happy TTT (on a Wednesday)!

    Susan

    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • January 31, 2024 at 7:08 pm

      I hope you love it as much as I did! 

  13. February 1, 2024 at 10:43 pm

    A lot of these are still on my TBR, but I’m so glad to hear that you liked them! I really enjoyed The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep, too.

  14. Jaime
    February 2, 2024 at 2:43 pm

    I’m not familiar with most of these, but I’m glad you were able to find a lot of different authors you enjoyed, especially for different types of genres! 🙂

  15. February 3, 2024 at 1:03 am

    Hugely honoured to be mentioned on this list – and a bit overwhelmed to be included with such fabulous company! The Island of Missing Trees is such a moving book. And I’m pretty sure you were the one who brought the brilliant The Book Eaters to my attention, and first introduced me to Keegan too.

    Thank you for all the work you do on your blog, supporting both readers and writers ❤

Leave a comment

Living Through Fiction

Sharing the love found through Stories

Reading Freely

Seeking the True, the Good, and the Beautiful

Sorry, I'm Booked

Because my time is usually taken up by books, baking, & babbling, among other things. Come join.

Leah's Books

Book Blog

The Contented Reader

Literary & Lifestyle Blog

Paiges of Novels

A blog about books and writing

Kyla's Library

Book Reviews and Book Recommendations.

Sifa Elizabeth Reads

A world of books awaits

Rosie Amber

Book reviewer and garden enthusiast. Updates from my Hampshire garden. Usually talking about books and plants. People do not forget books or flowers that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.