Top Ten Novels with Nature in their Titles

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, is books that have covers or titles with things found in nature. I was inspired by Tom Lake, which I just finished, to choose some of my favorite novels with titles that include a body of water. I considered going with an animal theme, or a sky theme, but so many of my favorites fell naturally into this category.

I also decided not to include nonfiction, because I already post a lot about nonfiction about nature, here and here. This list leans toward historical fiction but I’ve also included one fantasy and one science fiction.

All of these are books I highly recommend. I’m currently reading What the River Knows, so that might be another one to add to this list.

Tom Lake by Ann Patchett

Miracle Creek by Angie Kim

Crow Lake by Mary Lawson

The House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune

Peach Blossom Spring by Melissa Fu

The Island of Sea Women by Lisa See

Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak: an island isn’t a body of water but I’m stretching a bit to include this one.

Down a Dark River by Karen Odden

Ocean’s Echo by Everina Maxwell

The Secret River by Kate Grenville

Happy Tuesday! Would you also recommend any of these novels, or do you have another water title to recommend?

  11 comments for “Top Ten Novels with Nature in their Titles

  1. February 27, 2024 at 1:01 pm

    Great collection!

  2. February 27, 2024 at 4:50 pm

    Great list–I love your theme. Tom Lake was wonderful, and Crow Lake is on my TBR list. You’ve inspired me to do my own list this week.

  3. February 27, 2024 at 4:52 pm

    Love this idea 🙂 I have Tom Lake waiting for me on our library’s reservation shelf.

  4. February 27, 2024 at 5:32 pm

    Sweet! Another nonfiction blogger. Will be following. :) Thanks for dropping by Reading Freely.

  5. masterspj
    February 27, 2024 at 7:18 pm

    Lovely covers! The Island of Sea Women sounds interesting, I may have to give it a try.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!
    https://readbakecreate.com/see-the-forest-for-the-trees-book-covers-featuring-trees/

  6. February 27, 2024 at 10:11 pm

    I love a good watery cover and setting. It’s so interesting how water can be used to evoke so many different moods – from peaceful to sinister. Great picks! I’ve read three of these.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan

    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  7. February 28, 2024 at 10:12 am

    Great list, and it’s nice to see a few favorites (Island of Sea Women, Ocean’s Echo, House in the Cerulean Sea)!

  8. February 28, 2024 at 2:54 pm

    Hi! I am leaving comments on people’s book blogs to let them know, if they haven’t heard , that WordPress is selling our content to AI companies to train their AI models, and if you don’t want them to do that, you have to go into your settings -general and opt out.

  9. February 29, 2024 at 2:57 pm

    Great list! I love how specific you got with it. I really enjoyed The House in the Cerulean Sea, too — and I’m sure you’ve heard that there’s a sequel scheduled for publication later this year? (So exciting!)

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier!

Leave a comment

Living Through Fiction

Sharing the love found through Stories

Reading Freely

Seeking the True, the Good, and the Beautiful

Sorry, I'm Booked

Because my time is usually taken up by books, baking, & babbling, among other things. Come join.

Leah's Books

Book Blog

The Contented Reader

Literary & Lifestyle Blog

Paiges of Novels

A blog about books and writing

Kyla's Library

Book Reviews and Book Recommendations.

Sifa Elizabeth Reads

A world of books awaits

Rosie Amber

Book reviewer and garden enthusiast. Updates from my Hampshire garden. Usually talking about books and plants. People do not forget books or flowers that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.