Blog Events

This Week’s Hop: Books on the To-Be-Read Pile

The question for this week’s Blog Hop is “How many books do you have on your to-be-read shelf?

If you see some of my recent posts or my “In the Queue” page, you’ll know I have a TON of books in my mental “to be read list” but those aren’t ones I actually own.  In reality, I have about 20 paper books piled up on the nightstand and about six lined up on my Kindle.  The Kindle has gone a LONG way towards keeping the volume of books around the house to a manageable level.  Of course that’s a little sad because my bookshelves are now full of my favorite OLD books and very few new ones.  Also, lately I’ve been trying NOT to download new books on the Kindle because I am waiting for Kindle 3 to arrive (two weeks and counting!).

On the Kindle my to-be-reads are mostly classics – I have Wilkie Collins’ Woman in White, Dickens’ Bleak House, and Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina.  I also have the second Percy Jackson book and a historical mystery by C.S. Harris. On my real bookshelf: just picked up Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar and Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451.  I also have Louise Erdrich’s The Birchbark House, Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake, www.watch by Robert Sawyer, and a few others.

What’s on your “to be read” list, and how many books are piling up on YOUR nightstand?  Please leave a comment or sign up for a subscription if you’re visiting from the Hop!  Have a great weekend everyone.

12 thoughts on “This Week’s Hop: Books on the To-Be-Read Pile

  1. Like you, my nightstand houses books. I think there’s 20 or so stacked on it. A friend of mine recently decided that I was living blasphemy for not having read any Palahniuk, and also lent me his Christopher Moore collection…and another is trying to convince me to give Clive Cussler a try, so between those three authors there’s easily 30ish novels sitting on my floor.

    Really, though, it’s the books on my nightstand that I’ll get to first.

    I’m here through the hop, so hi! It’s nice stop in again.

    Happy reading!

  2. Oh I wish I could pile mine into something neat and organised! There are some good books on your nightstand. 🙂

    I don’t read e-books and I don’t see myself ever going that way, to be honest; my TBR “pile” is around 730. I never know where to start next, with the added problem of wanting to read everything at the same time!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Do you really own those Wizard of Oz books in the picture? I have very fond memories of reading the Oz books on my summer trips to visit my Aunt at the beach. She had all the original editions on the shelf, but sold them in the 80s when she encountered hard times, without telling me – I’d have definitely added them to my library. Great blog!

    • Thanks! Those are my Oz books, I’ve been collecting them over the last ten years or so. They are my favorite stories from childhood and the illustrations are so beautiful. How sad that your aunt had to sell them.

      • I remember watching the Judy Garland movie with my kids one time, and I started to explain about the Winkies and the Quadlings, and they looked at me like I was nuts. Gave up on talking about Ozma.

  4. Hey, thanks for visiting The Window Seat Reader! I wish Mary Lawson would write more as well. I need to read her other title first, though. I’m a new follower. Have a good weekend!

    • Thanks for the visit! Middlemarch is really great — long but I’m enjoying it. Great characters. Maybe Woman in White will be next, I hear such good things about it. I like your blog and signed up as a subscriber.

Leave a Reply

