Blog Hops and Other Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

mondayIt’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

Readers, last week was a tough one, and I’m definitely feeling a little ragged.  On top of a looming research paper and planning our trip to Australia, work is really intense right now and there’s a lot that has to get done before May 9.  On top of that, I picked up a cold from my cubicle-mate at work that knocked me flat for a couple of days and left me in something of a daze of cold drugs.  We leave for California in three days for a wedding and wine tasting, which sounds pretty good, although it takes me away from things that seriously need to get done here.

I’m done whining (for now)!  Some bookish news items:

  • BBC is producing a miniseries version of Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, airing in 2014 and filming this summer (no casting news at this point).
  • It’s Stephen King’s world and we just live in it.  TV show Under the Dome comes out this year, and there’s a preview for a Carrie movie, and rumors of a possible Cujo movie.  Carrie will star Chloe David-Moretz, who seems perfect for the role, and Julianne Moore as the crazy mom.  This one’s supposed to be darker and truer to the book than the Sissy Spacek version (but don’t they always say that?). Honestly, I’m not sure I’ll be putting myself through that.
  • In January I reviewed At Drake’s Command, a well-researched and highly-entertaining novel about the nautical explorations of Francis Drake.  Author David Wesley Hill asked me to let you know that the book  will be FREE to download on Amazon on April 16 and 17 (and afterwards $2.99).  More about the book here.

What am I reading?  I’ve recently finished Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life and Danny Wallace’s Charlotte Street (both courtesy of NetGalley).  And then, because I was sick, I read some fluffy stuff (When Maidens Mourn by C.S. Harris) and a bunch of sample chapters I didn’t need to concentrate on.

Right now I’m reading Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut, and I started out really excited about this book, but now I’m struggling with it a little bit.  It could just be my mental state – I feel like I’m not doing right by Vonnegut.  I might need to stick with fluff for a little while.  The other book on my virtual nightstand is Gillespie and I by Jane Harris, but that one isn’t grabbing me either.

Happy Monday, and happy reading!

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. Being sick is simply the worst 😦 I hope you’re feeling 100% now! I’ve heard great things about Life After Life, I hope you liked it!

    Have a great week of reading and a great trip to Cali!

Leave a Reply

