About Reading / Blog Hops and Other Memes

Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List

Hello readers!  I just got back from Spain a few days ago, and I can’t wait to tell you more about our trip.  But as always when I travel, I’m full of ideas and no energy/time to actually write about them.  So it’s a good thing it’s Tuesday!  Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is my fall To Be Read list.

I didn’t read nearly as much on vacation as I planned to, so I have a lot of books in waiting.  I’m also in the middle of Don Quixote and The Three Musketeers, both of which will be long-term projects.  In addition, I’m looking for book recommendations on books set in Cuba, Syria, and Australia, and written by authors from those countries, for the Read Around the World Challenge.  Thoughts?

Books I’m in the middle of:

  1. My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor
  2. The Atrocity Archives by Charles Stross

Books for challenges:

  1. Death Comes to the Archbishop by Willa Cather

Advance Reading Copies (ARCs):

  1. The Good People by Hannah Kent
  2. Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan
  3. Strangers in Budapest by Jessica Keener

On my Kindle:

  1. Anything is Possible by Elizabeth Strout
  2. The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter by Theodora Goss
  3. Giant of the Senate by Al Franken
  4. Little Deaths by Emma Flint

That’s my fall TBR list. I’m most looking forward to the new books by Kent and Egan, and Sonia Sotomayor’s book is great so far.   Have you read any of these?  What’s on your list?

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List

  1. I have not read any of these. I’m thinking of taking a whack at Don Quixote this fall, though.

    Otherwise, I’m not sure what to put on my fall list. I want to keep reading down my Mount TBR pile, but there are a lot of choices on there. I have to see what I’m in the mood for.

    • It sounds like it might be time to go “off-list”. I love making book lists but sometimes I have to get away from them. So far I’m enjoying Don Quixote but I’ve got a lot of other books to read.

    • My husband’s a big Stross fan. This is my first book but I know he’s a great writer from his blog. I’m enjoying the “office space” humor so far – as a government employee I can relate.

      • I’ve only read Goon Squad, but I’d love to read The Keep—and I hadn’t realised she had written other novels, so the existence of The Invisible Circus is a nice surprise!

  2. Spain is on my wishlist for travel. It looks amazing. I really enjoyed Lucy Barton so I have Anything is Possible on my TBR. I’m really looking forward to seeing the town and the side characters come to life. Great list!

  3. I had never heard of Strangers in Budapest, but I just looked it up and it sounds amazing. That’s definitely going on the long-term TBR! Looks like you have lots of good books to enjoy this autumn 🙂

  4. She might be a little fluffy for you, but Liane Moriarty is an Australian author that I love. Her books are set in Australia. If you like light dystopian, you might also try the Tomorrow, When the War Began series by John Marsden. It’s set in a fictional Australian town.

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  5. Pingback: Reading the Rest of the Year | The Book Stop

Leave a Reply

