My April Reading Wrap-Up

April’s over and I’m feeling terribly boring these days, because I’m in the home stretch of finishing my thesis.  I thought it would be done by now, but there were some delays in the revision process and more re-writing than I expected.  I can’t wait for graduation and a fresh start!  I already have a post written on all the things I want to do when it’s over.

Crazy stress last week led to a series of migraines, which of course came at the worst possible time, when I needed to spend hours sitting in front of my computer.  Thanks to my migraine diet, I haven’t had a chain of migraines like this since October, which I’m grateful for.

April was also crazy weather month, where we put away our winter coats only to drag them back out again.  Last week the mornings were in the 40’s and I’m still wearing tights and coats.  I know in the very near future we’ll wake up and it will simply be summer, and I’m waiting for that day.  It was cold and drippy all weekend, which I was actually grateful for while finishing my paper, since glorious weather would be so much harder to bear.

Here’s what I read this month:

  • A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
  • Road Ends by Mary Lawson
  • The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth McKenzie
  • Caliban’s War (Book 2 of The Expanse series) by James S. A. Corey
  • Pleasantville by Attica Locke

I’m close to the end of Dragonfly in Amber, but I’m waiting for a good time to finish it up.  There are some books you don’t want to read while you’re stressed, having a migraine, or on the bus, and this is one of them.

I read three Bailey’s Longlist nominees this month.  The Portable Veblen was my absolute favorite, and I would definitely recommend Pleasantville for someone who likes legal/mystery/thrillers.  It focuses on racial issues and politics in the mid-90s and was fascinating read if like me, you were of voting age in those days.

Caliban’s War was a great second book in The Expanse series, and had better female characters than the first one.  I still think these guys need a little work writing about women, though.

What’s next?  I’m thinking about reading Rush Oh! by Shirley Barrett, another Bailey’s nominee.  I just started Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold, to further my space opera kick.  On hold at the library, I’ve got City on Fire by Garth Risk Hallberg, My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout, and Half of  a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

I also hope to dig into a classic or two once I’m done with grad school.

I’m looking forward to a grad-school-free May, and bring on the summer heat.  It’s my favorite time of year.  What are you looking forward to?

  3 comments for “My April Reading Wrap-Up

  1. May 3, 2016 at 3:06 am

    I wish you all the best in getting your thesis done this month – that final push to the end can be so tough but it’s worth it when you get there. I’m sorry your migraines flared so badly recently, I hope they settle back down soon. I’m a fellow sufferer so I know how debilitating they can be. You read some great books this month, I have a couple of them on my TBR and can’t wait to get to them.

    Here’s my April wrap-up post:

    My April Wrap-Up Post

  2. May 3, 2016 at 3:26 am

    One last push and you’ll be done.

  3. May 29, 2016 at 11:36 pm

    A little late to the party but sorry to hear your May didn’t start off too well 😦 Migraines are really the worst and I know how annoying they can be especially when you’ve got assignments and stuff due. Some interesting picks for April and ones I mostly haven’t heard of before so it’s always good to discover new books. Pleasantville was one I had my eye on though so I should give that a read. Hope May has been good to you!

Leave a comment

Living Through Fiction

Sharing the love found through Stories

Reading Freely

Seeking the True, the Good, and the Beautiful

Sorry, I'm Booked

Because my time is usually taken up by books, baking, & babbling, among other things. Come join.

Leah's Books

Book Blog

The Contented Reader

Literary & Lifestyle Blog

Paiges of Novels

A blog about books and writing

Kyla's Library

Book Reviews and Book Recommendations.

Sifa Elizabeth Reads

A world of books awaits

Rosie Amber

Book reviewer and garden enthusiast. Updates from my Hampshire garden. Usually talking about books and plants. People do not forget books or flowers that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.